We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

The Kings Arms Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Found this place on Trip Advisor after suffering some pretty terrible food at other places in Gillingham. Only five minutes drive from the town but a world apart in terms of food and service. Beef & Haggis Wellington is excellent would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Booked a Table for five and every one's meal was way above average pub food,I can be quite critical usually but speak as you find it was a lovely meal, we will be back for sure and Looking forward to it already
TRY IT OUT

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drewstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stumbled upon this Inn whilst passing, boy are we glad we did! A Sunday, and a bank holiday weekend, but they squeezed us in, very friendly staff, and the carvery was superb! A great selection of meat, you could even choose from a well cooked or rarer cooked joint of beef, and there was pork and turkey. Lovely selection of vegetables, and all beautifully cooked.we had no room for dessert unfortunately, but that s a very good excuse to return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

On a recent visit to nearby Mere and after reading the notice board in our rented cottage we opted to go to The Kings Arms for Sunday lunch. We arrived before the doors were opened....Lucky for us!! We got a table for two,,just! People piled in and in minutes the place was full. We did't go for the traditional style Sunday lunch from the buffet,although I have to say everyone else appeared to do just that,what a plateful! I can't understand the review that said this was overpriced at £9.95. what planet do they come from? We went for starters and steaks and we were not disappointed,the field mushroom starters had to be seen to be believed and were delicious!and the sirloins were cooked to perfection. The bill was very reasonable and we will go back when we are next in the area, but we will book first!!

Room Tip: This was a review of the restaurant, we did not stay the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

The Kings Arms always has really good food and a warm atmosphere. I've heard they have a Scottish, a Greek and an Italian chef, hence the variety of different foods on the menu. Can be a little pricey and is in the middle of nowhere which means driving but is definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLucyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This was our third visit here in the space of six months or so (one previous lunch, and an evening meal), for a most enjoyable lunch, at absurdly cheap prices. They are maintaining a top quality standard of cooking, presentation and whole staff approach. To pay £5 a head for a delicious chicken, ham & mushroom pie, and a shepherds pie with delightfully al dente mixed vegetables, was in our view extremely good value - we would expect to pay more anywhere. We indulged in a pudding as well - lovely - but we shouldn't have done - job to walk up the slope to the car park! Lovely - and thanks again...we shall be back!

Room Tip: Didn't stay - we live locally - but if the rooms are as good as the restaurant, you couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We've eaten here three or four times and have always had an excellent meal and good beer.
The service is always friendly and prompt and there is a nice atmosphere.
Lunch time specials at a fiver are particularly good value.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
3.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
270 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
207 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
145 reviews
20.7 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Address: Kings Arms The Common | East Stour, Gillingham SP8 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Gillingham
The Kings Arms Inn Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing