We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find for pub food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

The Kings Arms Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gillingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find for pub food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Eaten here many times now. The menu has a Scottish twist - haggis keeps popping up here and there. Extensive choice and all freshly cooked on premises. As well as the main menu there's a list of smaller plates for £6 and a chef's £7 board that's always worth a look. A daily specials board is also on show with things like duck, steaks and sea bass. Clean and bright restaurant with extremely pleasant staff. Very good value and worth a try. I advise booking. We're normally there midweek at lunchtime and the place is packed! Last time we went was 28th August 2014. My husband had a half of Doom Bar and I had a large Sauvignon Blanc. I had a chicken curry (with rice, popadom AND chips - enough to feed a family of 4!!) and my husband chose the steak medallions in a peppercorn sauce with mash and seasonal veg(off the £7 board). We both had a couple of scoops of icecream for dessert and the toatal bill was £30!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Whether you have a Sunday carvery or a normal lunch time / evening meal you will find the food is excellent ( especially the Haggis ) very good service and always a friendly greeting. There is a large garden to the rear of the Pub, so ideal to take your dog, however, should the weather be against you, your pet is welcome in the bar area.

PS. if you are thinking about the Sunday lunch, it is advisable to book as their carvery is very popular with the local area.

Room Tip: Never stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a superb find, excelllent accommodation at a fair price in todays market , very attentive staff with any personal requirements carried out without fuss. The food offer was wide and varied and again my personal menu changes were accommodated without that dreadfull word ,"the computer said No", . At last a place if you ask you do get and in my opinion do not hessitate to ask because request are greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were staying in a local B & B but had arranged to meet a friend locally when we found an eaterie. We phoned and booked a table and good job too as it was very busy.
Swift service, excellent food but a bit limited and unimaginitive on the specials board.
Lovely large portions of well seasoned food but thought it was a bit overpriced.
Will return if I'm in the area again
We only ate so cannot comment on the rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It was always going to be a busy affair but the service and food were excellent and even though we were the 4pm reservation the enthusiasm and diligence were top drawer. Beer good. Well go back when it is a little less hectic but suspect we will still go back on a Sunday for the roast!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BurlsGurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The restaurant was adequate, However, was disappointed as the previous reviews were so complimentary,

Overall, the service seemed a little tired and not focussed. It reminded me of an old works canteen type service,

The beer I was served had bubbles stuck on the side of the glass. I find this very off putting.

I apologise if the review is different to the preceding reviews. To summarise the restaurant is fine if you are passing and want to get a quick meal. It does seem expensive for what it is though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spikebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Well cooked variety of vegetables and traditional sides with a chice of four meats, good choice of homemade desserts, and excellent value.

Very busy between noon and 1.30pm, but thins out considerably after that for those who prefer a late lunch.

Service good. Only complaint is that it's hard to park as it's so busy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visit021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
8.3 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 4 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Property: The Kings Arms Inn
Address: Kings Arms The Common | East Stour, Gillingham SP8 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gillingham
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Gillingham
The Kings Arms Inn Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing