We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idiosyncratic English B+B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glen B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glen B & B
Ranked #5 of 8 Gillingham B&B and Inns
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Idiosyncratic English B+B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

What a lovely welcome we had. The rooms are very well appointed with a great selection of tea/coffee and even night time tea. Also lots of lovely biccies, fresh water in a carafe and fresh milk in a thermos. Other little touches like a torch supplied and earplugs, as well as the code for the wi-fi. Our hosts were very attentive and full of interesting information..

The bed was very comfortable with a decent quality quilt and pillow - so comfortable.

Breakfast - what a delight. The table was laid old English style. Jam spoons and beaded covers for the juices. A great selection of cereals, fresh fruit and free access to the toaster. The breakfast choice was huge and came out on a trolley - plenty all round, with tea/coffee freshened up as required.

Shame about the main road - but you know - I didn't care because I was so comfortable. I would have loved to have seen the premises at their peak.

Thank You for a lovely stay - thoroughly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms available x2 double and a 'child room'. The child room is suitable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed one night and everything was perfect: the service was great, and we got a large breakfast. really reccomended. The staff is very kind and available. Thanks Mr.David!
Fred & Paola

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great welcome from friendly and helpful hosts, wonderful breakfast with excellent choice, very comfortable room with good tea,coffee etc making facilities including ample supply of fresh refrigerated milk, everything expected supplied and very clean and good off road parking within the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The rooms were very clean and had everything you needed even a torch. There was excellent tea facilities in the room and a good choice of biscuits. The owners were very helpful if you needed any information. For breakfast you were given a fantastic choice.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wend21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Lovely accommodation, bedroom had good tea making facilities and was well stocked with snacks. Generous sized ensuite bathroom. Breakfasts were superb. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful.

Only one drawback - the property is beside a busy main road, so leaving the bedroom window open while we were in wasn't an option, due to the noise from the road.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JockTamsonsBairn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

I was looking for B and B in the vicinity of Gillingham and came across this gem. My room was well decorated and comfortable and I could readily relax for the evening in between two stressful days elsewhere.
There was a vast choice for breakfast and the items I chose for my cooked breakfast were freshly cooked exactly to my requirements and the quantity more than satisfied my healthy appetite. The owners went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed and, as I was a stranger to the area they made sure I had accurate directions for driving to my (nearby)destination the next day. My only regret is that I did not have an excuse to stay for longer.. I would certainly stay there again if I was in the area

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leichlingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The Glen is a real home away from home. Gill and David make you feel enormously welcome. Their house is lovely and cosy. Breakfast is unbelievably good!!!
We have visited twice so far and I believe there will be more!

Room Tip: Good location for Stourhead, Shaftesbury etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gillingham hotels
3.6 mi away
The Ship Inn & Hotel
The Ship Inn & Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gillingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Glen B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen B & B

Property: The Glen B & B
Address: The Glen Fern Hill | East Stour, Gillingham SP8 5ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GLEN is an 18th-century stone farmhouse restored to a high standard. Set in the delightful countryside of ‘Hardy’s Wessex’, this welcoming home has expansive views over a lake and surrounding farmland. Less than 3 miles from the medieval town of Shaftesbury, THE GLEN makes an excellent base for exploring nearby Stourhead, Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. The Dorset coast is within easy reach. Discount for stays of 3+ nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Glen B & B Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing