We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
95
32
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
32
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreat choicereal alestaff were excellentwedding receptionexcellent foodlast nightfacing the roadbirthday surprisethree coursescerne abbasevery weekwonderful atmospherephoned aheadenjoyable staycannot faultlunch with friends
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I travelled from London to meet family for lunch, and chose The Ship Inn from the internet. It was FANTASTIC. Lovely pub by the side of the road - just how country pubs should be but with really good food and great staff as an added bonus. Ten minutes from Gillingham Station by taxi. I wish it was closer to home! I can't comment on the rooms because I didn't stay but will think about doing that next time because the journey home wasn't as easy as the way there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arentwelucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the Ship Inn & Hotel for one night on our way down to Cornwall. We were looking for somewhere that provided reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price with something available to eat. We were welcomed by the very friendly owner who was hospitable throughout. We stayed in room 5 which had a very ornate and attractive fireplace with beautiful views across the fields with hills in the background. Everything was clean and worked. We had a choice of eating in the bar area or in the restaurant. We chose the restaurant. The food was excellent, the service was very efficient and friendly and the décor (stone walls) was lovely. There was an excellent choice of food and drinks at breakfast, coffee was very good (we are fussy!) and there was a choice of newspapers to read. When we left, there were roadworks on the main A30 resulting in the closure of the road. The owner provided alternative directions for us in case we were unable to get through on the main road. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt that this venue was a real find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burgesspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very enjoyable stay and made to feel very welcome by all staff. They had reserved a table for us on the Saturday as were full. As we had a young one with us we ate out instead but the menu looked very good with a number of unusual dishes. One of the party had food allergies and they ensure that they had special food in for breakfast. Breakfast was very good.

Shower could have been better but the room was very clean/spacious and despite facing the road very quite. I love old buildings with sloping floors. All in all the staff were excellent and very helpful and determined to make the stay an enjoyable one. More than likely will repeat this visit next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDeQuincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hardly a Sunday went by without us going down to the Ship Inn for one of their delicious roasts!
Gavin the owner and the rest of his staff are incredibly friendly, and always accommodating. Especially with our son, they always remember he likes pork scratchings as a starter, and it's served in a bone china dish for him!
The food is always freshly prepared, nothing is too much trouble, and the desserts are to die for!
We are now back overseas, and miss our lovely local. But will make a point of booking a table when we visit the UK.
We miss you Gavin, Sally and Tom!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon of the easter weekend and received a very warm welcome. After being shown to our room, we were invited to come back down to the bar where there was a lovely log fire. We sat in front of it to have a very welcome hot drink . We did not stay in the hotel for an evening meal as we were visiting relatives and ate with them, but they told us that the meals in The Ship were excellent and that they eat there for 'Special Occasions'. The breakfast next morning was lovely.

The room, although not large, was very pleasant,clean and comfortable. There was a modern ensuite, this did not have any heating which we did notice on Easter Sunday morning but as it was a very cold easter I expect this was why. We had a room at the front but did not notice much noise, either from people leaving or from the traffic. From the window you could see a wonderful sunrise coming up over the hills. Altogether it was a very comfortable place to stay, which we hope to do again next time we are in the area

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews