We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely, lovely family run B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gable Cottage B& B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gable Cottage B& B
Ranked #1 of 8 Gillingham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Welshpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely, lovely family run B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Lorna and Carl were just so kind and genuine people. They ensured we had a lovely time during our 3 nights with them. Our room was warm and cosy, and the bed was superbly comfortable! The ensuite bathroom was lovely and newly installed to a high standard.
It's a beautiful rural location but very close to all amenities of Gillingham and Shaftesbury.
Breakfast was delicious and offered a great choice. The fresh coffee was excellent too!
Young son Stanley was a great help with our cases!
All in all, a very enjoyable and memorable experience and we would certainly recommend this as lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Both rooms were of excellent standard. One has a balcony which would be superb in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
It was lovely to have you to stay. We wish you the best of luck and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely B & B. A wonderful welcome with a pot of tea and a chat, while the owners son took our bags to our room. It was a beautiful room with a very comfortable large bed and and the en-suite had a huge shower. The breakfast was fantastic and plenty on offer.
All in all a great stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we hope to see you again.Good Luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Enjoyed a restful and welcoming two day stay just after Christmas. Our room was gorgeous, with the biggest, most comfortable bed we have ever had. We were made to feel very welcome by Lorna and Carl and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious, organic and locally sourced - a real treat. If you want a quiet and stylish place to stay, this is by far the best in the Gillingham area. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menorcalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Sorry for the delay in replying. It was lovely having you to stay and we hope to see the 3 of you next time, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gillingham hotels
3.0 mi away
The Ship Inn & Hotel
The Ship Inn & Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gillingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gable Cottage B& B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Cottage B& B

Property: Gable Cottage B& B
Address: Gable Cottage The Common | East Stour, Gillingham SP8 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage is situated in a quiet no-through lane just 3 miles from Shaftesbury Hilltop Town, famously know for the Hovis advert, just 2 miles from Gillingham (mainline station) and 2 mins walk from The Kings Arms Pub. There are many walks and cycling routes from the lane also National Trust Properties a short drive away. The cottage has 2 en-suite rooms available both with attractive views of the Dorset countryside. We grow our own veg, fruit, herbs, bake bread, make preserves and use very local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Cottage B& B Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing