We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really friendly place to stay”
Review of Gable Cottage B& B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gable Cottage B& B
Ranked #1 of 9 Gillingham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I stayed one night and we were made very welcoming even before entering the front door. It is a typical country cottage and one in which you an feel comfortable straight away. Both Lorna and Carl treated us like old friends. We stayed in the King Alfred room which was beautifully furnished as was the on suite bathroom. We had a very comfortable nights sleep and rounded it off in the morning with an excellent breakfast, which included homemade bread and eggs from her own chickens, what more could you ask for. They even offered to run us to the Birthday party we were going to in Gillingham.
We would both highly recommend this B and B, it's the standard that all B and B's should strive to reach.
We would definitely use them again.

Ann and Graham Bridger

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both are of the same high quality
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Gable Cottage B& B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The two delightful rooms with ensuites have all you need for a base to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside, towns and villages. But this B and B offers a lot more. The owners, Lorna, Carl and their helpful young son Stanley share with you a little of their lifestyle, which is very much in harmony with their surroundings. Wonderful breakfasts which will certainly keep you going until the evening and if you don't fancy travelling very far for dinner there are a couple of excellent pubs close by including one which is a very short walk up the lane with a torch supplied by your accommodating hosts! We won't be waiting very long to return and a few nights here makes a wonderful Xmas or birthday present.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you.. We hope to welcome you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staying with Lorna and Carl was like going to stay with friends- they were so helpful and happy to make my stay as easy as possible, including running me to and from the station and showed me where to find delicious sloes and balckberries which was a complete bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Gable Cottage for 3 nights and it was absolutely perfect! Idyllic location, gorgeous room, beautiful character cottage and the most perfect hosts, Lorna & Carl were so friendly and welcoming, they made our stay a real pleasure. We would highly recommend Gable Cottage and will definitely return. The pub at the end of the lane does fantastic food - nearly as good as Lorna & Carl's cooked breakfast, they cater for everyone, it was great as a vegetarian to be offered a cooked breakfast. We will look forward to visiting again soon, thank you Lorna & Carl x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank You..look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We really loved our stay at Gable B&B and would definitely recommend it to others. Lorna and Carl were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble, especially the breakfasts which were varied and delicious. The room was pretty, comfortable and very clean and it had a lovely new en-suite with character. It is very well situated for exploring Dorset. We particularly loved Shaftesbury which was only 5 minutes drive away. We would recommend the 1/2 minute walk in the evening to the pub at the end of their lane - delicious food :) We really liked this part of Dorset and hope to stay again sometime soon :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahU274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

So glad you you were comfortable.Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights while visiting family in the Gillingham area and we do not have a bad word to say about this place. Lorna and Carl (owners), were very tentative to all of our needs and enjoyed a few lengthy chats over a brew with them both durning our stay. There is a very homely and warm feeling in this cottage, which is helped by the friendly owners. Their son Stanley was also very helpful as Porter, helping us to our room with our bags. The room was excellent and decorated to a very high standard with the most comfortable bed and stylish en-suite. We will definitely recommend Gable Cottage to my friends and family and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you so much for a great review, we hope to see you again. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Lorna and Carl were just so kind and genuine people. They ensured we had a lovely time during our 3 nights with them. Our room was warm and cosy, and the bed was superbly comfortable! The ensuite bathroom was lovely and newly installed to a high standard.
It's a beautiful rural location but very close to all amenities of Gillingham and Shaftesbury.
Breakfast was delicious and offered a great choice. The fresh coffee was excellent too!
Young son Stanley was a great help with our cases!
All in all, a very enjoyable and memorable experience and we would certainly recommend this as lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Both rooms were of excellent standard. One has a balcony which would be superb in the summer.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeckyFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna J, Owner at Gable Cottage B& B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

It was lovely to have you to stay. We wish you the best of luck and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
264 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
142 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in Compton Abbas
103 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
219 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Cottage B& B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Cottage B& B

Address: Gable Cottage The Common | East Stour, Gillingham SP8 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gillingham
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage is situated in a quiet no-through lane just 3 miles from Shaftesbury Hilltop Town, famously know for the Hovis advert, just 2 miles from Gillingham (mainline station) and 2 mins walk from The Kings Arms Pub. There are many walks and cycling routes from the lane also National Trust Properties a short drive away. The cottage has 2 en-suite rooms available both with attractive views of the Dorset countryside. We grow our own veg, fruit, herbs, bake bread, make preserves and use very local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Cottage B& B Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing