We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were so lucky to find this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmebridge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holmebridge House
Ranked #1 of 1 Holmebridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We were so lucky to find this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough. We only stayed one night, but could easily have stayed many more. Brian and Anita were perfect hosts, super friendly and knowledgable about any number of subjects. The B&B itself is beautiful, the breakfast was delicious and sitting out at the back, watching the deer of an evening with a glass of wine was the perfect end to the day. It's also close to a number of great destinations - lulworth cove/durdle dor/kimmeridge. If you want a great base to explore dorset from, you can do a lot worse than holmebridge house, but you won't do much better.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2, which was great, but I imagine one of the rooms with the view of the the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yokochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Anita and Brian were perfect, during our stay they could not do enough to be friendly and helpful.
The view from the rear of the building is fantastic, we spent two nights watching the deer with a bottle of wine. it was so relaxing a perfect way to spend a weekend.
A mention of the breakfast is needed, the breakfast was fantastic-tasty and proportioned brilliantly,
This was a last minute trip for us and we only found them by accident, what a find we will without doubt return.. A must try!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had room two and found it to be spacious and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUCKY52-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Me and my partner stayed with Brian and Anita for two nights and the hospitality and standard of accommodation was fantastic. Had the best two nights sleep in the comfy bed and woke up to a delicious breakfast each morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Well done Anita and Brian you've got this spot on!..Stayed for one night with my wife as we wanted a location near to Monkey World and found this little gem en-route.
Stopped around 8pm and Anita was able to offer us room 3 which is a rear facing with stunning views of the deer and has a seperate private bathroom.
Breakfast was amazing and as mentioned in previous reviews both Anita and her husband Brian were on hand to give great tips without being in your face.
Spotlessly clean and a really lovely place to chill before planning your days out.
Will definitely plan to return when visiting beautiful Dorset again to see more stunning sites.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have own en-suite whilst Room 3 has its own separate bathroom and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisAlexandrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Very clean, very homely and very comfortable. I was met by Anita and was made to feel welcome. Despite being the only guest I was offered several options for breakfast, in previous establishments there have been limitations when being out of season.
The separate, private bathroom facility was different, guess I'm just used to ensuite on my travels, but was like being at home, just wish my view out of the window was the same.
After I had finished my excellent full English breakfast, I had a nice conversation with both Brian and Anita, two wonderful hosts.
Although situated on a fairly busy road I wasn't disturbed by the traffic and it's location is ideal for access to local amenities and walks.
If I had to pick a bad point then it would be the lighting to get to the front door. When I arrived back from my trip out at 2130hrs in the pouring rain visibility wasn't good and the path near the front of the house was quite dark when coming from the car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmebridge, Owner at Holmebridge House, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for bringing our attention to the light problem. We have had the light checked and an intermittent fault was found and the light has now been replaced.
We hope you visit again and enjoy one of our en suite rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have stayed many times before at Holmebridge House. We enjoy walking and this is great location for exploring the Jurassic coast. Anita & Brian are always friendly, welcoming and helpful but unobtrusive.
Anita's full English breakfast is the "gold standard" by which we compare others, great quality ingredients, homemade bread and preserves and always perfectly cooked - simply the best as far as we are concerned!.
We always enjoy our stays at Holmebridge, it is always consistent, comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 3: A smaller room at the rear of the property is our favourite. Although it is not en-suite it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightblue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Business colleagues recommended a visit to the Jurassic Coast for a last minute holiday. We were looking for a place that wasn't too expensive and that had something larger than a double bed. We looked for a place in Swanage, but none had a room available with anything larger than a double bed, and the rooms that were available were very expensive. We found the Holmebridge House listing online, saw the good reviews, and were delighted that they had a room available.

Brian and Anita were very friendly and helpful in recommending interesting places for us to visit and do some walking. Their location is very convenient to Lulworth Cove, Swanage, and Studland. They offer full English breakfast (or something lighter if you prefer), cereal, and fresh fruit. They are located in a quiet country setting, with birds visiting the feeders behind the house and deer in the adjacent field. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very large and well appointed.

We enjoyed our visit immensely and would certainly stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pawilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holmebridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmebridge House

Property: Holmebridge House
Address: Holmebridge BH20 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Holmebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holmebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmebridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holmebridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmebridge House Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing