We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
49
67
36
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
67
36
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pay and display car park room was clean affordable hotel polite and helpful staff recently stayed at this hotel rooms are basic dive trip single room would stay here again breakfast was included tea coffee making facilities stayed one night portland castle good nights sleep short stay chesil beach a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with work. It's right on the front in the harbour and overlooks the sea.
The bedroom was really clean and bright, bathroom big and clean.
Looks quite "hostel like" but look beyond that.
I was travelling alone and felt safe. Meals can be bought in the cafe which opens at 7.30 am.
Lovely pleasant staff.
Does what it says on the tin.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank EllenJo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Budget hotel very close to the cruise terminal. Food was very good, both dinner and breakfast(breakfast was in the nightly rate).
The rooms were small and basic but they were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
I knew what to expect from the genre of hotel and so it turned out.
But for an overnight stay it was ideal.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Spent a Saturday night with my wife in April. Good location, and very helpful members of staff. We had a nice breakfast, and the lady helped throughout the time.
Room was nice, clean and tidy. We had an ocean view room. Room price was reasonable. They have a restaurant and other takeaway restaurants are nearby, too, 3/4 within around half mile.

Room Tip: Parking can be difficult sometimes, may need to park at paid the public car park (6pm to 8am is free)
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shakeosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAquaPortland, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to leave us a review, Shakeosm. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed here while participating in a climbing course nearby. A little worn in places, but money is being spent and it looks like they're working to step up their game, so for the price there are no complaints. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the breakfast cafe watching the divers get their kit ready made a nice start to the day. Even threw in a sarnie all wrapped up for lunch! Will definitely book again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Some sea views available, although ours overlooked a car park!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Regular T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAquaPortland, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Regular T - thanks for the review. As you've discovered, Portland has some great climbing routes. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're down here exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is quite a nice place to stay. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The room was clean with a comfy bed. The shower was a little bit small, not a big door to get in. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lkrmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAquaPortland, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi lkrmusic - thanks for letting us know about your stay.

It's an interesting point about the shower. We have range of different ones in the hotel, some square, some curved and some with baths, so naturally some are larger than others. If anyone reading this is concerned about shower-space, call us when you book and we'll try and allocate your room accordingly.

Thanks again for the feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards, Alistair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews