We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
49
67
36
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
67
36
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pay and display car park room was clean affordable hotel polite and helpful staff recently stayed at this hotel rooms are basic dive trip single room would stay here again breakfast was included tea coffee making facilities stayed one night portland castle good nights sleep short stay chesil beach a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed over two night in this hotel.On our arrival the waiter(barman) was very friendly and explain everything about hotel and rules. We want send compliment to him because him was very friendly and polite .
We were disappointed of other staff the rest staying time,because they don't care a lot of clients. The pump in the toilet was working loud during using a water. The walls are so thin that you can hear conversations of neighbours. We didn't expect to get something as from 5 star hotel,but at least to get friendly,polite and helpful staff .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank done77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We didnt stay in the hotel but used the restaurant and facilities on a group diving trip. Nice food at a decent price and very friendly and helpful staff. Large Pay and Display car park outside and easy to reach from the main route into Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chelt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Recently stayed at this hotel for the first time in over ten years and my how it as change.I had a single room over looking the harbour and I was pleasantly surprised on the cleanliness and comfort.Room had a on suite shower and toilet and tea and coffee making facilities.Also a TV.
This might seem strange to mention this but when I last stayed it was dormitory type accomadation with communal toilets and showers.
The service from staff was very good and food was good.
Couldn't fault the hotel in anyway.
Good value,clean and comfortable what more could you want.
I stayed here whilst on a diving trip so bear in mind this is what the majority of guests are gere for.

Room Tip: doers not really matter but bear in mind this hotel is really set up for the dive industry
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diver247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Rooms were clean, nice towels.
Bed frames steel ad we kept on banging our legs on the frame as we passed. Toilet was very noisey, when flushed, no information in rooms, ie WIFI code etc, local amenites. Could hear guests in next room and windows when opened had big artic lorries coming through the night
Night manager and lady behind the reception were helpful and nice.
Disappointed with the lady in cafe when i asked for an extra chair, she was rude.
Cafe dirty and crockery and floor were filthy

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Superb all day breakfast for £5.00 including a brew. Love this place, it sells your typical cafe food, cheap
Plates and all.... ! Don't mean that in a bad way..
Seating outside with view of the harbour, parking.
I recommend this place, makes me hungry just thinking about it.
The service 'don't expect 5 Star it is what it is.. including a bell on the counter !!!! Loving it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews