We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour Lights Up”

The Boat That Rocks
Price range: US$11 - US$42
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Newly refurbished restaurant & bar, with an emphasis on fresh food at a competitive price. Our marina side location is hard to beat and we offer live music at least once a week. Upstairs we have a wine, champagne & cocktail bar which has its own balcony and is open late thurs, fri, saturday
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Sadly the Boat That Rocks closed in November 2013 but this most iconic of venues has now reopened (13th March 2014) as The Harbour Lights.

Just got back from the opening party and the whole place has been fantastically brought back to life as a Bistro Restaurant.

Harbour Lights has a new frontage to make the best of the fabulous views and the whole ambience of the place has been transformed.

Watch out for the reviews and find out what Nigel & Ysanes customers think of their dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DorsetPlayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This venue has ceased trading !!!!! The full story is available to read in the Dorset Evening Echo dates 1st November 2013

3  Thank Onlinewilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

pre dinner drinks upstairs in aroom which consisted of a bar, approx 20 chairs, 1/2 of a circular table. gets better no ice available for drinks.
Starter: luke warm soup, 1/2 bread roll evenutually some butter. Dinner: chicken supreme (breast dry) small potatoes roasted/deep fried, mange tout. Others (2) on our table had baby carrots, must have run out. Desert: Baileys cheesecake with icecream, you've guessed 81/2 out of 10 left. Bitter disgusting!
Entertainment Excellent.
Being a local I will NEVER come back to this resturant again.
Staff appeared very disinterested and were not helpful in any way, place needs a good shake up

    • Value
    • Food
Thank pauline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Firstly the member of staff we spoke to was unhelpful and unfriendly. My Dad and I went for lunch as a treat and as the sun was shining we sat outside to enjoy the view. I ordered the mushroom stuffed with goats’ cheese. It was a pathetically small and soggy mushroom, there was one lettuce leaf on the plate and the dressing (I think out of a bottle) was dumped on the side of the plate resembling a visit from a seagull. It was a joke! The skinny French fries were thick, undercooked, frozen in origin and the oil tasted old and dirty, it was awful. Not French fries! They couldn't even make a proper pot of tea and it was too strong, stewed and we had to ask for a pot of hot water. We had to wait ages to get the food and ask for everything. The people on the next table were smoking...! Out waitress said she would pass on our comments about the food, but nothing happened. Unfortunately, my Dad is too nice and paid the bill! I was too disappointed to even speak to the miserable girl behind the bar. Overall, very, very, very disappointing. Very poor food and service and too expensive for what it is -or supposed to be. We did not eat the chips and would not return. However, Dad's fish was fresh and the fish itself was the star of the show as needed no skill to prepare. Don't bother going, it's awful and the staff don't care! It used to be good; The location is lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Since we have an apartment very near the Marina we must have been in The Boat That Rocks 2 or 3 times. Every time we go there it is a major disappointment. Service is poor (staff are not interested), the place is generally not clean, the coffee is awful and the food is average to poor.
What a great location. How mad to be so poor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat That Rocks also viewed

Isle of Portland, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to The Boat That Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing