We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rosa Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with  woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living room with  woodburning stove
Portland Jurassic coast
Enter a caption for your photo
the famous Portland Bill
Portland Bill
Chesil Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul C
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We nearly booked a hotel for our four night visit to Weymouth but found this place after some searching. We shortlisted 3 and Rosa Cottage came out on top due to the location and the friendly responses to our email enquiries from the host Karin. The cottage was immaculately clean and tidy and far more spacious than we expected. It was the perfect location for exploring around and despite the many eateries around we always looked forward to making tea back at base and chilling in front of the log burner with a glass of wine or two. Rosa Cottage made our break as much as the places we visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Dear Paul, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rosa Cottage. Hope to see you again one day. Regards Karin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely house - ideal base”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house was lovely and well equipped. It was a good base from which to explore the nearby walks and beyond to Weymouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The internal deor and furnishings were generally very good
Liked least: The immediate location - Coronation Street on a hill!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Holiday home from home!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Rosa Cottage first week July 2015. First impressions were very good as wine and chocolates were left for us and the cottage was very well presented. Everything was provided for a comfortable week stay. Local amenities are plentiful and scenery stunning. Excellent base for exploring the Dorset coast. The owner is most approachable and helpful, even recommending local gems to visit that we might've missed. Parking is an issue, especially the neighbour that parks on the path outside the door. Frankly though if this is the only concern then stay at a holiday park and miss out on so so much.Fortuneswell is afterall a historic location, that's why we went there and the parking is what it is. Overall this is a beautiful cottage in a picturesque location. Would love to go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel F
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful 4 days at Rosa Cottage. The property is absolutely gorgeous, lovely period features, great wood burning stove and spotlessly clean. Perfectly located for exploring Dorset and Devon. Very spacious inside. We will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
65Woody20...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house close to the pubs and costal walks”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Friendly owner who came and checked everything was ok.
Lovely spacious house for my family and dog.The house was very well equipped with comfi beds and a lovely living room. Felt more like visiting a friends house than a holiday let due to attention to decor.
There was a local coop and pub within a couple of hundred metres and less to the start of the coastal path.
Great location for walks around the Isle also easy 5 mile walk to Weymouth which has a lovely harbour.
Bottom line a very relaxing break even in the depths of winter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayneswor...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in Portland”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Despite the typical British weather we enjoyed our 3rd visit to Portland, staying at the charming Rosa Cottage. Based a short walk from Chesil Beach, and the local pubs and shops, Rosa Cottage is a great location for exploring Portland, and for us a base to cover the wider Dorset county. Parking was a bit of an issue, and was a lottery some evenings as to where we managed to park. Though no fault of the cottage owner, it would be best to be prepared for this should you need parking right outside every day. That said, it's a quiet street and it was no real issue. The rear garden is contained, with no views, but offers privacy and an area to dry washing etc. the cottage itself is full of charm, and the decor reminds you your by the sea. I would not recommend the stairs for anyone with small children as they are a little steep an bare wood, however they caused no problems for our 7 year old who loved his holiday home in Portland. One day we had a small issue with the boiler and the owner was very helpfull in getting the issue swiftly resolved. In summary, if you are looking for spacious accomodation, with charming features and giving you quick access to Portland the Rosa Cottage is likely for you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing