We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entirely satisfied”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just a few lines to counter some of the other remarks on here - as they nearly dissuaded me from booking!

I stayed one night only while visiting a local company on business. As everybody agrees, this hotel's elevated location and views towards Chesil Beach and England (!) are exceptional. Parking is convenient and the automatic doors to Reception are very handy if carrying baggage. Yes, the building has a 1970s ambience - even a faintly 'temporary' feel - but somehow the latter feels in character with the remoteness of the location. Other than battered door paintwork in the corridor to the downstairs bedroom, and an odd disinfectant/air freshener smell en route, no complaints about the building. In fact the restaurant and bar area is as nice as you will find, and as said the vista is breathtaking.

A so-called 'small double room' was not unduly small but featured only a shower in the bathroom. This facility worked extremely well though. Light levels a bit marginal for shaving. The bed mattress was exceptionally comfy and noise overnight was nil.

The staff, seemingly all female, were certainly unobstrusive but at Reception and in the Dining Room everybody was perfectly attentive, friendly and efficient. A three course evening meal and breakfast proved very good indeed... other than the coffee pot at the table being overdue a deep clean!

In sum, all boxes ticked for my purpose and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

View is fantastic from the restaurant. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast.
We would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.
Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzena516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

just had 2 days at the heights hotel and have got to say the hotel and the staff were great .This was a 25 year wedding aniversary that I booked before reading any reviews,good job as I read some after booking that were not good and they would have put me off booking.However they seem to be unfounded as the hotel was very clean ,the food at the bistro was really good and the staff really helpfull even returning some money that I had dropped at reception.will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel has such great potential but unfortunately it lets itself down with the rather rude staff members.
We stayed for 2 nights & our room was not visited by housekeeping during our stay.
Staff are not properly educated on the local area or the offers that are stated on their website.
I complained directly to the hotel a few days after our return but have yet to have a response.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Durban80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, Guest Relations Manager at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort caused during your stay. Housekeeping would only ever not visit a room if there was a ‘do not disturb sign’.
I have no record of your complaint to follow it up any further as to your room number or the members of staff you came into contact with. Comments from guests are always taken seriously and responded to as this is how we improve our service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was down here for another couple of days, and stayed at The Heights - I only slept, and had breakfast here- but The Heights met my need for both of these very very well. The Hotel is in an amazing location with lovley views over the beach. Clean, efficent, welcoming. Not much more you can ask for!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Lots of things let this hotel down, like the having the world's smallest bathroom, which was more like walking into a small cupboard with a bath you can't even have a proper soak in because it's too small. The rooms are quite basic, dark and poorly lit and impossible to find a mirror where you could see properly to apply makeup or as my husband said 'to have a shave properly'. These are basic things and should be in any good hotel which charges the prices of this hotel.

Cutlery and plates at breakfast were found to be dirty because of dried on food debris from the last meal and crumbs everywhere from the previous evening detracted from what was otherwise not a bad breakfast - good selection of fruit and cereal and piping hot cooked food. Staff are pleasant but I feel from observations that there is a lack of consistency with some guests being looked after better than others and even when there are not many people waiting to be served having to wait overly long for tea and coffee.

The food in the evening was found to be mixed with some dishes being cooked well whilst at other times overcooked and dry. The one thing in this restaurants/hotel's favour is the view, so would be well worth anyone coming for a drink at the bar or a coffee.

Whilst we did not use the facilities such as the steam room and the sauna my husband and I did have a look around and we were put off by the shabbiness and seemlingly unkempt appearance of the changing rooms etc - not somewhere that we felt we wanted to undress, leave our clothes or walk around barefoot.

We are extremely well travelled and in comparison to other hotels we have visited, for the money you could do better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

What can I say about the heights hotel- When my girlfriend and I arrived there for our weekend away, we were welcomed by the most magnificent view. The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The food choice was a welcomed site and the breakfast was enjoyable.There are loads of attivies and stuff to do in the area and the beach is great for the kid in us!! PS Must try in the Summer!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
500 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
20.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing