We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Improved”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Breaking News!!
Duvets have arrived at the Heights!!
After many years in the dark ages, duvets with nice crisp white cotton covers have arrived, making the whole sleep experience fit the prices charged.
New bathrooms in smaller rooms have not carried through to deluxe rooms and these are tired as is the room decor, though a soft refurb now makes the bed area look smart and comfortable with lots of pillows of different types to suit all tastes.
Staff as always are friendly, helpful and accommodating with the exception of one member of reception staff who appeared to be new and not fully trained. I arrived early for a check-in which was pre-arranged only to be to told no rooms would be ready until 2 pm. Once I pointed out that my early arrival had been pre-arranged (subject to availability) the matter was resolved but this was not a welcoming experience.
Food as always was excellent.
High speed WiFi seems to be available in all rooms now too which is also a great improvement.
Next challenge? Energy saving light bulbs please!
Room rates are still on the high side for the standard of rooms on offer but much better value than previously.
Location is unbeatable and the views breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    219
    119
    46
    19
See reviews for
95
319
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We are picky folk, but we have lunched and dined many times here. We have always had absolutely brilliant food and service, which compares with the best London or New York has to offer. Our special thanks to Paula, Garry and Gerry in the kitchen - you are quite simply the very best. With our thanks and love, David & Susie Johnson.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second visit and yet again we found this hotel to be excellent. The staff and duty managers strike the right note between friendliness and professionalism, the food is wonderful (well done Paul) and they cater for a gluten free diet for both breakfast and dinner which is so refreshing for sufferers. Ideally located, you can just park your car and forget about it for your whole visit. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 35 has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A clifftop hotel overlooking Chesil Beach to the west and Weymouth to the east offers spectacular scenery, friendly and helpful staff and comfortable accommodation. It is particularly good for those on strict diets offering a varied and comprehensive choice of vegetarian, dairy free and gluten free meals in addition to a full 'normal' menu.
Wi fi is available in the foyer but not yet in the bedrooms but this is a small price to pay for the other facilities available.

Room Tip: All rooms would appear to have their own qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01BWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Have now visited the Heights Hotel about 4 times but only for food. Had sunday lunch there that was ok but nothing special but were helpful in fitting us in without a reservation. About the price you would expect from a hotel with this fabulous view. Can sit on a balcony outside for food too (if dry and warm). Have stopped for snacks several times and first time had sandwiches which were really brilliant - fresh lovely brown bread with loads of filling, Fresh coleslaw in a little basket (can't remember what it was made of but it was food) and salad and crisps - yes expensive but worth every penny. When we returned a few months later and thought we'd have sandwiches again as so good- what a change - basic sandwich with crisps and bit of salad garnish but still same price. Is this just down to what chef is working or are they cutting back!? We will still visit again because service is good and it is just so brilliant to watch Chesil Beach whilst eating. Lovely setting but food variable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stopped here only for food, and to see the fabulous views across Chesil Beach and beyond. We had lunch here, and gosh, what a let down. I had a prawn sandwich, and it was tasteless, small, and boring. Throwing a few tasteless crisps on the plate too doesn't make it any better. There was no mayo, or sauce of any kind with the prawns. You certainly needed the large drink to help wash down the hard bread..... Sorry to say, but though the views are great, and the staff were good and friendly, I will never eat there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The room was very good with modern clean facilities. Lots of extras in the room which may be needed otherwise reception was very helpful.
The service in the bistro was excellent but the food was a complete let down. . Shame as it is a stunning location.

Room Tip: Lovely room. Very clean and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
23.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
17.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing