We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we stayed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had originally looked at the chain hotels but didn't like the locations so we looked on Portland itself and despite some of the reviews chose The Heights. Despite a slightly tired exterior the spectacular views from the restaurant and delicious food that evening confirmed we had made the right choice. It is obviously a popular place to eat and stay as the restaurant filled up whilst we were eating. We were glad we booked a table when we checked in.
Staff were pleasant and the room clean and comfortable. An 'info manual', as mentioned by another reviewer, showing restaurant times, additional services etc would have been useful in the room.
The breakfast buffet provided us with a multitude of choices, cereals/fruit/yogurts/muffins and a full range of the usual cooked breakfast items. Once again we took our time enjoying the view on a bright sunny morning.
Definitely would stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheleuk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    218
    116
    45
    19
See reviews for
94
309
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for just one night deciding on impulse to extend our stay in the area. Unusually, I didn't research on TA - we drove past and just popped in!

Reception staff were very polite an helpful, although I was surprised to be asked to pay in advance - never happened to me before in 40 years of staying in hotels!

Our room was 130-something - on the same level as reception. The corridor seemed dimly-lit and gloomy. The series of dark wooden fire doors added to the dour impression. The room itself continued the gloomy feel, with dark brown woodwork and, curiously, dark brown curtains, which completed the 'dungeon' ambiance. Furniture was a lighter wood and of good quality - plenty of capacity. A small table as well as a desk/dressing table were welcome surprises.

The bed was enormous and very comfortable. As well as the normal coffee/tea gear, an ice bucket was also included, with an ice machine in the corridor. Latter wasn't working for our stay. One odd omission was a room 'manual' - restaurant opening times, additional services, etc.

The restaurant takes full advantage of the prominent position, with truly breath-taking views across Chesil Beach. Breakfast was a buffet affair, fruit, cereals and cooked options, all of adequate, if not outstanding, quality.

On leaving we were presented with a 10% discount for our next stay. Not sure whether we'll take advantage, but a nice gesture, all the same.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night after visiting the Abbotsbury Swannery. The receptionist was very helpful and cheerful as were all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The deluxe room was very large with a huge double bed. Fruit, chocolate, water and biscuits provided in the room was a very nice touch. The evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning. The view from the restaurant was fabulous. A shame that none of the rooms shared the view. The only drawback was that there is no lift to the upper floor. My wife is partially disabled and found the stairs to our room and the restaurant a bit of a struggle. Other than that, we would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room as near to reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

When we drew up at the hotel I was surprised at how dated it all looked and certainly the pictures on the website indicate a much more `up together' place. The building had quite a look of the 60's motels rather than a prestige hotel!
Upon arrival the receptionist was unable to find our booking, which as we were part of a large party was a bit disconcerting. It took several attempts to look through a cardex and the computer and eventually the booking was found. Our room was on the first floor and although we were offered assistance with our cases we thought that it would be no problem. There was no lift, just a very narrow set of steps, akin to the type seen in car parks! The walls were covered in cream tyrolean which I have never experienced in any kind of hotel!
The room was adequate and the large 6 foot bed dominated the room. upon using the bathroom I was staggered to find that the hand towel had holes in it??? Although there was a radiator in the bathroom it didn't work all weekend as the heating was off in the hotel however there was a small electric panel heater in the bedroom. The running costs of that would have overshadowed the savings made in the room with the low energy LED lighting!
The courtesy tray was well stocked and had a couple of nice biscuits. The hairdryer was however disgusting as the soft rubber grip was either perishing or was just plain dirty, either way it felt awful. It took 2 attempts to get it changed and then only after going down to reception with the offending article! The replacement was clean, but the grip was still sticky!
Evening meals were very good and well served although drinks prices were inventive!! The party that I was with had booked a dance band with the instructions that traditional ballroom dancing would be required as well as `bopping' dance music. We were amazed that it was just 2 guitarists! They proceeded to play Spanish style music, well they were singing songs that we knew but in a spanish style and this made it unsuitable for dancing! They were good players, however that isn't what we had asked for! What hotel books Spanish guitar players for a dance?
The breakfasts were fine, however the clear up service was very slow and the waitresses not particularly helpful. After asking for some toast which hadn't arrived after 15 minutes I asked again, to be told that there was a queue for toast!!! Others who had come in later were however eating toast. This happened on both of the mornings we were there.
DeCaff coffee also seemed to be a stress to get.
Whilst waiting to speak to the receptionist earlier concerning the hairdryer I was amazed when the receptionist argued with one of their guests over which room he was in and requested his key card to check. When this came up with the room number that the guest had stated, there was no apology, just a statement that their system often gets it wrong!
The pool area was paved with uneven paving stones and although it was of course closed because it was out of season, I would not have wanted to walk over them in bare feet!
All in all not really a hotel that I would recommend, which is a shame as the location is great and the views from the bistro amazing. Strange also that the Bistro is on the first floor as was our bedroom, but to get to it you had to go down the stairs to the enormous reception area, which I suppose doubles as a lounge and up another set of `carpark' stairs on the other side of the building!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, General Manager at The Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your feedback and always strive to improve our service to our guests. I would like to respond to some of your concerns. Although our hotel was built in the 60s we have kept all our facilities up to date, it is difficult to alter the building due to the extreme weather we experience, and the main building was obviously designed to make the most of our amazing views. We have a lift in reception to the first floor, I am sorry this was not pointed out to you.
Your comments with regard to the towel and the hairdryer I can only offer my apologies, the housekeeper has now checked all our stock since your comment and eliminated any towels or hairdryers that are not up to standard. I have passed on your comments with regard to the music to our entertainment organiser, although we did receive positive comments from other guests on departure. The patio area as you rightly said is closed as out of season, however we are refurbishing the area for the summer and will rectify any uneven paving before we re-open. Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment on the aspects of your stay, I am sorry that your stay was disappointing our main aim is to cater for everyone’s needs and exceed your expectations.
Angie Mustill
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We are on our last day at the Hights Hotel. Very friendly, efficient staff. Spacious bedroom, although could do with a little more soft furnishing. But a lovely super king size bed. Although the hallways between rooms are a bit utilitarian and empty.
The food at dinner was very good. Not a lot on the menus, but that's a good thing. Big portions made sure we were well an truly stuffed. The wine list could be more extensive, but again that might be a good thing.
The view from the restaurant is to die for.
Overall we've had a good stay and would recommend the Hights to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night on my own prior to visiting some sites on the island. I rang and booked on enroute for same day arrival.

Being a Sunday night the hotel was not busy.

the staff were very pleasant and the room clean with a large double bed.The view from the bistro where the breakfast buffet is outstanding .

There was plenty to eat in the breakfast buffet but with the hotel being rather empty I would have thought cook to order would have been better,comment not complaint.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Really comfotable beds we paid a little extra to have a deluxe room which included fruit chocs slippers dressing gown -all really nice . The food is fantastic very unusual combinations and really delicious . Lovely friendly staff who all seemed yo be local people . Really hope to go back there soon

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a better room it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
24.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
23.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
5.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing