We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good ”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Cracking view. Staff were friendly although a couple could learn to smile. On the whole a Nice stay Good food Best hotel on the island. I have stayed at them all. The ocean hotel might be 4* but it certaily isnt. Lacks the charm of the heights. Keep going guys you can be better. Look forward to my return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bob663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My mother and I booked a twin room online a couple of weeks ago, Having visited the hotel before whilst living in the area we new the hotel very well.
Pulling up at the hotel we didn't have a problem parking, the view is breathtaking. We were met by a friendly well presented man on the reception desk, we were offered a porter to take our luggage to our room which we declined as we didn't have a lot of luggage with us, we were checked in quickly and i asked for a room on a high floor when we booked it with a sea view which we got although the sea view was partial it was a sea view.
On entering the room it was very clean and tidy and modern with a nice bathroom, we had a flat screen TV on the wall, hairdryer and Tea/coffee facilities overall we were happy.
We booked a breakfast and 3 course meal all for £140 for one night which we thought was good value.
The 3 course meal was fab, plenty of choice and piping hot, very good service, friendly staff with good food knowledge. We paid extra for drinks which was reasonably priced. We were seated by the window with that fab view across Chesil beach, Weymouth and beyond, we watched the fab sunset which is a must.
The breakfast was again fab and buffet style, so much choice, Tea/coffee, fruit juice, fresh fruit, yogurts, muffins, croissants, the choice for the full English was endless, Lovely thick bacon, Proper meaty sausages not plastic, button sauteed mushrooms, hash browns, eggs on fried bread, tomatoes, beans and more. You could order black pudding and kippers.
Checking out was quick too. We will be returning in the near future without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. At The Heights, we are proud to have so many guests that consider their stay to have met or even exceeded their expectations, and clearly your stay was no exception. We thank you for your kind words, and like all our guests, we look forward to welcoming you again.

It is true, that this weekend, the sunset was exceptionally stunning, and our hotel is in the right place to accommodate what we consider to be some of the best views in Britain!

Don’t forget, when booking your next stay, the best rates are found on our own website, rather than a third party. So, be sure to book early to secure the best deal.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well, lets do the bad first.

I booked a Delux room for two nights as a supprise for my wife. I can only say sorry to my wife for this mistake. We were supposed to have a fruit basket and chocs in the room on arrival. We are stil waiting for them. The food was dreadfull, good luck with the brekkie. I have renamed there hash browns, to Mush browns. The room itself was like going back to the1980's. However, the bathroom had been refurbed. So,step into the bathroom to be in the now, step back into the bedroom to be beamed into the 80's. Now i know how Dr Who feels. And what was that smell!!!!. I asked the young girl behind the bar if i could have some ice. Well, you would of thought that i asked for a pot of gold.She was horrified! As she was putting about 15 pieces of ice in a bucket, the guy behind the bar said to her "Don't give it all away, as we don't have much. Very un-proffesional i thought. The sign in the hallway states "If you would like ice, just ask". The young girl also had no personallity i thought. I tried to joke with her, but she was not having a bar of it!! I paid £250 for two nights. Not worth it!!! Oh! by the way, i understand that the management say that the pool is being refurbed. Well, i paid this hotel a visit nearly ten years ago, and the pool was closed then. You need to chase your builders me thinks!! It states the hotel has a spa. They need to know what a spa means.

And now for the good stuff!!

The View.

Martin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Martin, thanks for your comments. We’d like to take a moment to address some of the main issues you have raised.

Deluxe rooms do indeed come stocked with the extras that do make a guest’s stay more enjoyable. However, it would seem that on this occasion, these extras weren’t included. We have taken steps to identify what happened, and are working to prevent this issue in future. We would like to say however, that we always appreciate it when guests let us know if there’s anything missing, so that we can have the opportunity to rectify any issues before it’s too late. Unfortunately, as you didn’t let us know until now, we weren’t able to supply the extras. For that, we can only apologise.

The pool is indeed closed. Historically, the pool would have been open during the summer, and closed each winter. We expect the last time you saw it closed was probably during the winter months. However, this year, it has closed for the last time, as we prepare for an exciting new outdoor recreation area for our guests to enjoy.

We are sorry you weren’t satisfied with your meal. Had this been brought to our attention at the time of dining, we would have done all we could to identify the cause for concern, and offered a swift resolution. But, again, it is unfortunate that we were not informed until now.

Hindsight is an amazing thing, and we would have loved to help at the time, but sadly this wasn’t made possible, so for that, we can only apologise. We’d like to advise all guests, both past and present, that should you have any concerns at all whilst staying with us, we take great pleasure in addressing and resolving the few concerns that do arise. You’re our guests, and nothing is too much trouble.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Customer Relations, Heights Hotel.

Maintenance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff were friendly and the room clean and adequate, although the faults make the price excessive. The plumbing needed attention (loo didn't flush properly, shower was a flexi-hose on a mixer tap), the bedside lighting inadequate, the TV took up too much space (should be wall mounted in a smallish room). No written information was provided at all, so phone calls necessary to get wireless password, enquire about room service, etc. The less said about the coffee the better. It's a nice place but it needs a manager.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We’d like to take a moment to address some of your concerns.

We’re sorry to learn of the issues you have mentioned. At the Heights, we take great pride in the maintenance of our rooms and facilities. We are always happy to address and deal with repairs at the time of your stay, and (if possible), action repairs or adjustments there and then. Should an alternative room be required whist work is carried out to rectify any faults, we would always do our best to assist with this.

Our room information packs are being replaced with new ones, to ensure that the latest information is always available to all guests. Meanwhile, our Reception team will be happy to assist with anything guests may require.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wow nice car parking which is a bonus....Reception very very clean and tidy. Mike on reception was brilliant nothing was to much trouble apart from being called madam but some people might like that but he was a good at his job.
Our room 233 was amazing sea view from both windows can not fault the room, just shame no dvd player. The bed was awesome, you could fit 3 people in it. Plenty of pillows and bathroom had every thing we needed and the room was not to hot or cold. Views from the bistro were breath taking and the food was very good and tasty, Will be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell73593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

- The good bits...
Big comfy bed
Modern bathroom
Great views from the bar / restaurant

- The not so good bits...
Poor wifi reception
Not very friendly staff
Pool out of service
No bike hire facility despite stating so on the website (apparently they stopped that service "years ago")
Lack of information from the staff at reception at check in - they stop serving dinner at 9pm and we only found out when we went to the restaurant at 21:15. We were advised to go to another B&B 10mins away and when we got there they had also stopped serving food but they accomodated us welcomingly and served us dinner.
Check out was at 1100am but the housekeeper opened the door at 0945 without knocking and we were still in bed...

I paid £125 for one night B&B in a deluxe double room which included a big bed, fruit, water, chocolates and bathrobes.

Overall slightly disappointed and not great value for money. Facilities need to improve (that pool needs to get sorted!) and also the friendliness of the staff. Not likely to go back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Whilst 99% of the hotel is covered by a great WIFI reception, we are aware of some minor black-spots, which our IT technicians are working to resolve. We advise anyone experiencing problems, to advise our reception team, to see if we’re able to assist. In most cases, we find that guests are able to resolve their connectivity issues with a little assistance. If needed, we can even help you move to another room with better reception, subject to availability of course. It’d be our pleasure.

You are right to expect courteous, respectful, and professional staff at all times. At The Heights, we pride ourselves on excellent customer service at all levels. We are sorry you felt cause to mention that on this occasion we didn’t quite meet your expectations.

The swimming pool has now closed, to prepare for some brand new outdoor improvements, which will enhance the enjoyment and relaxation of all our guests. We are really excited about this and look forward to being able to present a new outdoor relaxation area soon.

Whilst cycle hire is no longer a service operated from the hotel directly, we can arrange for cycles to be hired, via a third party. Our reception team will be pleased to provide guests with contact details on cycle hire organisations.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Looking for a late lunch we were directed here because they serve sandwiches all day, and the crab sandwiches were lovely and what an amazing view to accompany them. The hotel looks a little dated and could do with some TLC but the staff were lovely and the food very nice, if you just go up for the views it's well worthwhile

Stayed: June 2014
Thank buntin1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.2 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
501 reviews
5.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
297 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
513 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range: £67 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing