We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, Great Location, but (few) unfriendly staff!”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Views, Great Location, but (few) unfriendly staff!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked 4 rooms for the August Bank Holiday 2014 weekend.
- Check in wasn't smooth as one of the receptionists wasn't very pleasant to speak to or offer help. At the same time, the 2nd receptionist was very amiable and good, however wasn't allowed to speak much.
- The 2nd good receptionist later helped us with the itinerary of the day to spend around Chesil Beach, where to park the car, location of good Indian and Chinese Restaurants etc.
- Swimming Pool is under refurbishment.
- Views of the Jurassic Coast and Chesil Beach and the Olympic rings offer stunning views.
- Breakfast in the morning was quite nice with regular English breakfast options available. Omelettes were done on order., however took ages to get toasts etc being served on the table. Views from the restaurant are also very good.
- Rooms were usual, nice, comfy and big beds. Bathrooms were clean as well.
- Hotel is 5 miles from Weymouth town and beach. Its around 20 miles from Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove.
- Free Wi-Fi

- On the 2nd night, we 6 people were sitting in a room - just talking and not making a lot noise, when we were rather rudely warned by a hotel staff to either not talk at all in the room or come down in the reception and continue our talks. It wasn't a very pleasant scene!

So - the hotel has all its positives - the views, location, Isle of Portlandy thing - My rating is 3 because of attitude of a few staff out there. Rest all good.

Room Tip: We had the Island View Room on the 1st floor - was better than the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BipulShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments, we appreciate your feedback. We would also like to take a moment to address your concerns.

Firstly, thank you for staying with The Heights – we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are sorry that you had cause to mention the service we offered at the time of stay. The receptionist you commented on is a new apprentice and working hard to fit in, but obviously still finding her feet, sorry if she was unable to answer all of your queries.

We note your comment about your second night. As we hope you can appreciate, the comfort and enjoyment of all our guests is of paramount importance to us. Too many people in a room can cause more noise than would be reasonably acceptable for this environment. We have many areas within the hotel, where guests can meet with friends and enjoy their company. As a courtesy to all other staying guests, we like to ensure that noise is kept to an absolute minimum in areas where others may be trying to sleep. For that reason, we operate a night porter service to ensure that our high standards are maintained. We are sorry that you found cause to disagree with our policies, but we do consider them to be fair for all who stay with us.

Thanks again for staying at The Heights. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Customer Relations
Heights Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    220
    119
    46
    19
See reviews for
95
320
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at The Heights for just one night. Friendly staff, fantastic views from bar and restaurant. We had tasty but simple bar meals in the evening (rarebit / quiche) followed by outstanding deserts. Breakfast buffet was extensive, from cereal to full English. Pleasant room, comfortable bed, functional and clean bathroom. No air-con, which could be a problem in the hotter months. Would recommend it, and will probably go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJeffDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having experienced a less than impressive time at the New inn down the road, we decided to try our luck at the Heights hotel & we were so pleased by what we experienced we ended up eating there for the rest of our stay.

The restaurant offers spectacular views over Chesil beach, we ate quite early (about half 6) so easily managed to find a table next to the window.

On our first night at eating at the heights, I had a seafood platter. This consisted of poached salmon, a very generous portion of smoked salmon, prawns and crab, together with a salad with dressing (delicious) a brown bread roll and apple wedges. The meal was very well presented and filling.

My partner had the fish and chips which had a very crisp batter and the chips were crisp and fluffy, not greasy. This was accompanied with lemon, peas and homemade tartar sauce.

I enjoyed a hot chocolate too, which was accompanied by a chocolate biscotti - tasty!

The following evening, having enjoyed the previous meal I wished to try something new, I opted for the prawn kebab and my partner chose the butterfly chicken.

The portion sizes were very generous, both meals were accompanied with a large mushroom, whole tomato, peas, crisp battered onion rings and chips (I'm not a huge fan of chips, but easily polished them all off as they were light and fluffy).

The meals were very reasonably priced and the puddings looked fantastic although unfortunately we couldn't squeeze another morsel in.

When I next pass through Portland I would not hesitate to visit here again to enjoy the freshly cooked food whilst enjoying the scenery; highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in deluxe double 211. Nice size room. Shame about the bedroom view. But made up for it at breakfast!
Few wear and tear in the room.
Breakfast was nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great selection.
Views overlooking Portland are breathtaking.
Enjoyable stay. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyMac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

To end our recent visit to Portland to see family, we decided to spend our final evening with a meal at The Heights. During our stay there was a festival going on and the hotel were serving a special 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for 2 as part of this festival. We could not fault it in any way. The meal was excellant and it was one of the best Pates I have eaten in a long time. The toast even came in a little chine toast rack. The whole meal was well presented and the staff very friendly. The views over the harbour and Chesil beach are outstanding. Would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vince p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited the Heights Hotel 4 times for coffee during a 3 night stay in Weymouth. Despite it being a 7 mile drive each time we specifically went back because of the ambience of the place. Lovely seating area with beautiful views over Chesil beach. Plenty of seating with view; no fighting needed for that table by the window. Enough people around to make it feel popular but not overcrowded. Staff are very helpful and polite; the type of service you'd expect in a 5* establishment. If you're going anywhere near this Hotel I would highly recommend a visit! Can't comment on rooms etc as we only dropped in for coffee but would definitely consider staying here based on our experience. If you're like me and quite fussy about getting a decent cup of coffee in a nice environment, then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I visited Weymouth for my 30th with my Mum and sister and one thing I really wanted to do was go for an afternoon tea. I found The Heights Hotel on Trip Advisor and it came recommended, so I wanted to reflect this in my own review. We had a car, so were able to get here easily, but I'm not sure what it would be like on public transport. The hotel itself just has the most stunning,un-spoiled views over Portland. The tea, which consists of sandwiches, scones and petit fours, is £25 for 2. However, they adjusted this to accommodate 3 of us. We are also all vegetarian, which they were able to do for us. Reasonable price, lovely food, they re-fill tea or coffee upon request and gorgeous views. The only reason for not giving the 5th star is that the hotel itself has quite a 70's feel and could do with a little updated but if you want an afternoon tea , go here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
23.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
17.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing