We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pebble Reef

Pebble Reef
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pebble Reef
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Pebble Reef
en-suite double
en-suite double
en-suite
en-suite
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
family bathroom
Garden
Garden
Pebble Reef
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Josham121
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Upon drawing up to Pebble Reef, theres ample parking outside on the main road, we were apprehensive as to how small the accommodation would be.

Well this place is surely a tardis! It it very large despite its exterior dimensions. All bedrooms were of an amazing size and my travel cot had no problems fitting into the upstairs double ensuite bedroom, this having the smallest space around the bed so other guests choosing one of the other 2 rooms would certainly have no problems having a baby in with them.

All rooms are light, airy and well decorated. The pint of milk in the fridge was a welcome sight following our long journey here, thank you!

The main living area has doors cutting it off from the bedrooms and stairs so sounds don't travel. The stairs are a little steep but my 1 & 3yr old had no problems mastering them. There are split levels around the house so those with restricted mobility may find it difficult.

The garden is an added bonus. Safe & secure. We were pleased it had some buckets and spade as we'd forgotten ours. For us having a high chair here too was fabulous. We'd bought our own fold up one and it stayed in the car.

The house is well stocked and is really a home from home. 

The tiling to the bottom of the shower in the on suite is in need of repair. This is a minor thing though.

There is no phone signal in the house. We were all on different networks and none of us had anything. it was frustrating at times, but blissful!

Theres a fair bit of road noise at night so both front bedrooms were a little noisy at times. Due to the street light its also quite light in the rooms.

The showers are amazing, high pressure and ample hot water. I was pleased that the towels provided were large and not just hand towels as you get elsewhere.

Both upstairs room have creaky floors and beds so bear this in mind if you have little ones who are light sleepers.  My 2 woke a number of times just from me stepping into the room.

The house is so cosy and warm without having the heating on.

I can see why people stay time and again. I hope to return at some point in the future with my husband and children.

Pebble Reef is well located and just a short walk to local shops and the larger Tesco which you can cut through a walkway to get to. (10min walk)

Highly recommend staying here as a base.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pebble Reef is a real home from home”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my husband, daughter, son in law and grandsons. It is a lovely old cottage, extended at the back to give a spacious kitchen diner and a second bathroom. As I am disabled, the downstairs bedroom was perfect for me. The cottage was spotlessly clean and so well equipped with every gadget you are likely to need (except a broom) which made it a real home from home. The owner left a vase of fresh flowers and a bowl of fruit to welcome us, which I thought was a really nice touch. The flowers lasted for the 2 weeks we were there! We did have a problem with the TV. When you turn the volume up, the picture flashes on and off, however, we did not come to Portland to stay in and watch TV! The back garden has a decking area with table and chairs to enjoy a BBQ, which we did several times. It is surrounded by trees, giving privacy. The Isle of Portland is an ideal base to discover this amazing Jurassic Coast with the famous Chesil Beach practically on the doorstep! Portland Bill, the famous landmark and lighthouse is just over a mile up the road. There is so much to see and do here on Portland and the beautiful county of Dorset, we simply ran out of time. 2 weeks is not long enough. We will have to return for another holiday next year.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs bedroom and second shower/bathroom. Ideal for disabled or less mobile visitor
Liked least: I can't think of anything I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are sorry to hear that the TV was faulty will get that checked out and repaired as soon as possible.
Regards Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan1932
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time , very clean , nice size for a cottage rooms larger than expected . Lots of places to walk or drive to , great views all over the isle , great beach , weymouth not far away ,lots of coastal walks light house , west bay ,ect to go .lots for all ages .would recommend to all. Owner very nice .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean ,two toilets good for family's ,quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson H
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely cottage, in a good location for the village and the coastal walks, shopping really close, lots of places to explore on the island.
Nice and clean accommodation at a good price, I hope to stay here again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iffat S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Xmas was made to be very special by the owners”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's the little touches that go a long way. Welcomed by wine, chocolates, a tree and decorations, our stay was cosy, comfortable and chrimassy! We have stayed in cottages over Xmas before but the thought that went into our stay was immeasurable. Well stocked kitchen, comfortable beds and enough space for our teens.

Thank you!
Iffat and Karl.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2011Jules
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this cottage, warm and cosy although there were four of us it would comfortably sleep 6 people. The cottage had everything you could possibly need and was the best stocked we have stayed in. The location is great with coastal walks right from the front door and a short 5 min stroll into the village with shops and several pubs. A real hidden gem and I can't recommend highly enough. The owner even left us milk, fruit and a nice bottle to help us celebrate the New Year. A great place for a relaxing break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414June
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peeble Reef - a great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Peeble Reef is a lovely cottage. It's well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Everything we needed was provided. With five adults in the group it was great to have two bathrooms. We all appreciated the central heating, having been out all day in the wet and windy weather.
Portland is a great place to stay. The are plenty of walks and the views of the coast and mainland are fantastic. There is easy access to other places like Weymouth, Abbottsbury & Lyme Regis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing