We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great week at Portland Bill.”
other travellers have booked this property
The famous Portland Bill lighthouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The famous Portland Bill lighthouse.
Galley kitchen with stunning sea views from the window. Complimentary tea, coffee. Mini grill/oven. Modern airy lounge area with fantastic sea views, flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The famous Portland Bill lighthouse.
Galley kitchen with stunning sea views from the window. Complimentary tea, coffee. Mini grill/oven.
Modern airy lounge area with fantastic sea views, flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi.
Comfy beds for a restful night's  sleep..
Modern en-suite bathroom, toilet and Mira mains shower.
Complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast bar and lounge with sea view.Two bar stools.
Maritime House reception in the Art Deco building.
The on site modern Ocean hotel.
Portland lighthouse with old quarry workings.
Portland Bill lighthouse.
Ocean view from the apartment window.
Beautiful Portland sunset.
Views across fields to bird observatory.
Pulpit Rock.
Rainbow over Portland Bill lighthouse.
Chesil beach.
Waves crashing over Pulpit Rock.
People observing the sunset.
Beach huts by the sea.
Sunset on breaking wave.
View of the lighthouse across fields.
Dramatic sunset.
View of Portland.
Olympic rings.
Sunset over the water.
Sunset at Church Ope Cove.
Sunset.
Sunset.
Sunset over Chesil beach.
Sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David R
1 review
“A great week at Portland Bill.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a really great week. Accommodation is simple but comfortable - all we needed. We were able to use the apartment as a base from which we could see much of beautiful Dorset, and the good weather helped. The building work mentioned by previous guests had finished, which was good. All in all, it was a restful, peaceful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to sea
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a really great week and a restful, peaceful holiday. As you say, it is a base from which to explore beautiful Dorset and having great weather is always a bonus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazza32
kent
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A hassle free 4 night break!”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ok, they're doing up the building - but in all honesty with us that meant only a little noise from the workmen outside and for us it was a good base with an outstanding view.
Everything you need is in the apartment, and getting in/out was easy.
Chris is a good guy, he wants you to have a good time and make the most out of your stay - got to say that walk you suggested to the lighthouse was lovely .
Thanks Chris
Caroline

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The building still needs work in public areas if anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Many thanks for the great review and pleased you had everything you needed including the outstanding views from the window. I'm really happy that you enjoyed the lovely walk to the lighthouse as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWatlin...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location... great apartment... will visit again”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I was a little concerned about booking this apartment after reading the reviews from last September. However my fears were totally unfounded! This place is great and the studio flat was spotlessly clean and spacious. The views from the window overlooking the ocean are superb and there is an excellent spa in the on- site hotel.There are good pubs locally and an easy bus ride into Weymouth - so a great location.

Whilst some building work is still going on any noise was minimal and no work going on during the weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our week and the good weather was a bonus. Would recommend this apartment and very reasonably priced - so will return no doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your superb review. I am pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your week away with the good weather being an addeds bonus. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Beautiful area & comfortable apartment.
Liked least: It was on a building site.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments. I had in fact spoken with you prior to your visit to explain about the construction work. Unfortunately I had not been to the apartment recently and did not know the extent of the disruption until my visit yesterday as a result of your review. We have spoken and you stated that you still had a lovely time in the beautiful area of Dorset. I have posted your cheque today as way of compensation. When the work has finished I hope you will revisit the apartment to experience the tranquility of the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B
1 review
“Portland Holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The apartment was lovely, could'nt fault it - but the rest of the holiday was a nightmare, we were literally on a building site, the noise was horrendous, and we were surrounded by scaffolding!! We had to get out after breakfast as the noise started at 8 am and went on till 4.30 pm. All we wanted was a nice peace-full break, but we feel it was nothing but. We feel sorry for the owner who was unaware of this situation. We therefore feel we should be fully re-emburst with the money we paid for this nightmare holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The apartment and the holiday location.
Liked least: Just about everything else!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
I am glad you couldn't fault the apartment. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise during the building's conversion into an academy. However I had telephoned you prior to your stay to inform you of this building work; so it is not correct to state that I was unaware of the situation. You decided to proceed with the booking. When you got home you phoned me to voice your opinion. I asked you what refund you would like to compensate for your disappointment. We agreed a substantial figure which you were very happy with. I also offered you a discounted stay in the future, should you wish to re-book. Again you were very pleased with this offer. Your refund was posted to you the same day. After you received your cheque you then state on your review that you should have a full refund! I was astonished to read this comment and so telephoned you again to express my disgust at your underhand tactics. You said, and I quote, " well I'm sorry and I did go a bit over the top". One wonders why you stayed so long if it was that horrendous.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theresa d
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful island”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely apartment very clean the only downside was the building work which was going on around us. It started at 8 in the morning and if we stayed out all day we could avoid the noise as it was very loud which annoyed me as I wanted a quiet break. The island a brilliant place to explore plenty to see. Would recommend the tout quarry park and the chesil beach centre. Loved walking the coastpath down to Portland bill and seeing the beautiful sunsets. The coastpath to chesil beach was closed due to rockfall so went there in the car. Would have liked to have stayed here before they decided to build a school.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed the lovely, clean apartment, walking the coastpath and the beautiful sunsets. I am sorry that the current building work was noisy. I had in fact telephoned you prior to your stay and discussed this with you. However, you did then have the opportunity to cancel but decided to proceed with the booking anyway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: It's a shame part of the building not used
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your good review. I am pleased you had everything you needed
for your relaxing stay and enjoyed your "get away from it all" break.
The hotel does indeed have a good menu and provides lovely, reasonably priced food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing