We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd place, comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portland Lodge Hotel
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is quite an old fashioned, 70s type strange building. The staff were friendly enough but it does need a bit more of clean and polish up. The room was very spacious and comfy as was the shower however it's quite old fashioned. However for us, for one night it was totally adequate just a little dated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Portland Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked 2 nights at the Portland Lodge through an offer from Groupon for 2 nights for the price of one and for some reason I overlooked to read the reviews before buying the offer! Having read the reviews I was very apprehensive and even considered just cutting my losses and cancelling! However, I was very pleasantly surprised my room was warm & cosy....with a radiator that I could control myself a real plus as far as I'm concerned.....the ensuite was large & very clean with a power shower.....the bed & mattress looked new & was very comfortable, the bed linen was definitely clean & fresh & the TV worked. I didn't have the cooked breakfast but had a good selection of cereals & toast which was adequate, so what is there to complain about! Would stay again!

Room Tip: a room at the back if traffic noise worries you.....although not a lot of traffic after 11pm ish...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nools-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Nice guy at check in Andy. Was really friendly and helpful. We booked 2 rooms but I must say one room was very different to another as one was nice and warm and the other one there was heating issues. Kitchen staff need to be more friendly and not too pushy otherwise would of given full rating. Cosy room, get what you pay for and it's nicely located at the top of Portland and not too far from the town. Best to take a car and drive around
Would recommend compared to the heights hotel 3 min walk away

Stayed: April 2014
Thank nab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The building is not the most impressive, but we try not to judge from first impressions, so went in with high hopes. Room was rather small, altough it did have a separate wardrobe, which was a definite plus. The shower was fantastic - really good pressure.
On the negative side, the tv didn't work, the bed is really awkward (mattress kind of inlaid into a wooden frame which catches your arms), pillows were abysmal.
When we arrived we confirmed that we would like a full english breakfast in the morning. However, in the morning we waited some 20 minutes in the dining room before my husband gave up and went in search of someone in the kitchen, only to be told "sorry - you're only down for a light breakfast and I can't give you a hot one".
I went to the reception to try and sort it out but there was no-one there. I rang the telephone number on the door, but nobody replied.
We decided to give it up as a bad job and left (having been completely flummoxed by the "booking out" system, which basically meant throwing the room keys onto a tray in the entrance to the bedrooms!).
Could have been a far better experience if the staff had been a bit friendlier and organised.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in one of the family rooms and found Portland Lodge to be a friendly & hospitable B&B. Yes, the rooms are basic but perfectly clean and suited us (2adults, 2 young boys) well. The breakfasts were very well done and plenty to choose from with good size portions. If you're looking for a base to explore Weymouth & Portland then you can't fault this place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank djsargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have stayed here twice this year for a long weekend. The room had everything that I needed, tea/coffee making facilities, a good sized double bed and a clean en-suite shower room. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals, fruit juices and of course a full English breakfast. It does not have a bar or facilities for an evening meal, which I would have liked.

Room Tip: If possible book a room at the back of the hotel as it it very close to the road
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Basic but clean and comfortable accommodation and a perfect base to explore Weymouth & Portland.
The gent who checked us in was very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was a little cramped due to a small dining room but if you are patient, you will be fine.
Situated yards from a bus stop that links Portland Bill an Weymouth with buses every 8 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
0.3 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
617 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,095 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#4 of 15 in Isle of Portland
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 35 at The New Inn
No. 35 at The New Inn
#5 of 15 in Isle of Portland
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
#9 of 15 in Isle of Portland
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Lodge Hotel

Address: Portland Lodge Easton Lane, DT5 1BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Portland
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Portland Lodge is a modern hotel offering clean, fresh rooms with comfortable beds, en suite facilities with showers and a traditional English breakfast. All bedrooms contain hospitality trays and colour TV. Hairdryers and Wireless Broadband Internet access are available on request. Seven rooms are designed for the physically disabled. Storing and drying facilities available for sailors and divers equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Portland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Lodge Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing