We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chiswell Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FionaandP...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but not great”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house looked good inside and was nicely decorated and well equipped in terms of crockery, glasses etc. On arrival at the house the bin was overflowing and the door and windows were mucky. The cleanliness of the house was adequate but not up to the standard which we expected. There is dampness in the bedrooms on both floors. It was nice to have the garden as outdoor space but it was scruffy and the peeling paint on the chairs left marks on clothes.

The house is on a busy road which most traffic uses to exit the island, this results in traffic noise from around 5.30am until midnight. There is no designated parking, only on road, you need to make sure your wing mirrors are tucked in, ours was hit on the first day. Weekend parking was very difficult and it took ages to find a space.

The location is good, being close to Chesil Beach. We enjoyed our time in Portland but would unfortunately not return to this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen was well equipped and decoration was nice
Liked least: Cleanliness and damp
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynda1997
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant holiday house”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a week at Chiswell cottage, was exactly as we expected. There were 6 adults, 2 children and a toddler and we had plenty of room. The kitchen was brilliant with both a dishwasher and washing machine, it had everything you would need. The bathrooms are next to each other and very big and clean.
Two of the bed rooms are on the first floor, go up another flight to the next two rooms, all spacious and clean. My only problem was due to the hot weather we had the windows open and the road outside is very busy and noisy.
There is no allocated parking but we never had a problem parking outside and we had 3 cars between us! there is a small car park opposite which is free but you must move it every 72 hours.
Some of the group walked and cycled round the island but has lots of hills! Lots to do and see, there is an exotic animal farm, Olympic Rings, lighthouse and the jailhouse cafe worth a visit! The pebble beach is really nice and just over the road. The marina is close and worth a walk round.
We used the Chinese on main road and was really good, co-op is close by (up a steep hill!)
Buses run into Weymouth No 1 bus you need which take you to Weymouth centre £3.50 per adult for day return and there are 3 an hour till midnight.
would recommend the house to anyone who wants a home from home holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious for a large group
Liked least: Road noise
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayneandb...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like home from the moment we arrived”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a lovely week here, 4 adults and 3 children. This is an absolutely beautiful and clean house, a real home from home feel to it. The photos really do not do it justice.

Although no parking allocated, parking was never a problem outside the property or in the small car park opposite.

The house is ideally situated to explore the Dorset area and only about 10-15 minutes drive into Weymouth.

The Cove pub just over the road did amazing food and well worth a visit if only to enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down.

There is a tesco nearby to.

Would rebook without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perks12
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage - you could not ask for more”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a brilliant find. Spacious and well laid out, amazingly well equipped - it contains everything any one could possibly on holiday. Downstairs is well furnished and comfortable - the 8 seat dining table is great for larger group meals. The kitchen is spacious with all mod cons. Upstairs 4 great bedrooms and 2 fab bathrooms - clean and spacious. Parking was never a problem outside and very little noise from the road can be heard from inside. The little garden was a hit with the youngest members of our group. The WIFI and DVD player kept the older kids busy when we were in the cottage. Portland is a great base for exploring the Jurassic coast and this group of 8 had a great time especially as we had this lovely cottage to come home to in the evening. We will be booking again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious comfortable accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KDeato
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very spacious house with everything you could need to make your stay a comfortable one. It has been thoughtfully furnished with attention to detail. The location is excellent for the Sailing Academy and right by the beaches!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to Weymouth with my family for sailing events at WPSNA....perfect, literally only 2 mins drive and 5 mins walk. Super clean, FANTASTIC kitchen, really spacious and well considered for guests...comfort that you would expect at a top hotel. 2 good bathrooms and plenty of bedrooms for large groups. I will be planning to book this place each and every time for my future Weymouth trips. Oh.....if you cannot be bothered to cook, the chip shop is across the road, with a Chinese and Indian within 2 mins walk. Have not tried the pub 1 minute away, but hear it is a good one.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation. My son sails and so we regularly travel to Portland. Unlike a lot of properties in Portland there is road side parking and the house is within walking distance of the sailing academy. The house is spacious and was warm and clean with a homely feel. There is plenty of room to dry sailing kit in an annex to the kitchen which is a bonus. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathrooms are new. Wi fi is available. There is a small garden with facilities to sit outside on a sunny day. Overall a good experience and will definitely rebook next time we are in Portland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing