We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, welcoming BUT dont go for food”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful, welcoming BUT dont go for food”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have been staying at the "Smugglers" for over 25 years. It was a family run pub, carefully restored by its owner and had a top chef and cuisine. It has since been bout by a local brewery who make a fine ale (Badger) who renovated it into a pseudo Harvester/Brewers Fare. The food is almost inedible BUT the position, view, staff, rooms are excellent. Breakfast is a treat, but then again you cant really mess uip a full English.
The rooms are comfortable and quaint. £85 per room B&B and dogts are very welcome for £5 per night extra. The wine and beer is very good and the bar lively and welcoming. There are plenty of walks and the view from the car park is amazing

Room Tip: Most rooms are nice but the rear rooms 1-3 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob.PLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    102
    56
    43
    35
See reviews for
136
173
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Cosy atmosphere and good service. Food let-down was on the £1 extra for cheese on my burger - how about 2 square centimetres (1 square inch ) of 'extra' cheese? Fantastic for profits but insulting for paying guests. Note other reviews pointing at corner-cutting in the kitchen. Real feedback for the owners - watch out you do not kill your own trade.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antiblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Have enjoyed going to this place for many years now. We usually stay in Ringstead bay, and we use this as a base to walk the many coast paths. There is a very beautiful coastal path walk from Ringstead bay to Osmington, at which we end up at the Smugglers Inn. We usually enjoy a lunch and a drink here before setting out again on the coastal walk. The food is served piping hot and is always very tasty, and is good value for money. Yes it is not quick, but the food is made to order and is fresh, so worth the extra wait. The staff are always friendly and helpfull, and the pub is dog friendly which is great for us as our dog occupanies us on our walk. It is great that they allow dogs into the pub, they even have biscuit bones on the bar for the dogs. The views from the car park are excellent, and with care you can make your way down to the beach from here. Yes they charge you £5 for parking in the car park, which is refundable in the pub if you have a drink or food. This stops people from just using the car park to park the car and go off all day on the coast walks. To be honest, most of the time the ticket machine in the car park is covered up and out of order, so you can get away with not paying if you are lucky. In all the Smugglers Inn is a place we will keep returning to for many years.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeninety2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we have been staying at the "SMUGGLERS" for years the atmosphere is fantastic, the TEAM are so helpful,nothing is to much trouble,the food is wonderful. If people are used to going to a fast food joint, food in 5mins they expect the same at the Smugglers..WELL IT AINT A FAST FOOD JOINT SO BE PATIENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
if you stay there,you realise how hard these guys work,and the hours they put in providing food and drink all day and evening, seven days aweek....it does get busy so they must be doing something right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. but it is advisable to book a table for an evening meal..

Room Tip: all the rooms are very clean and nicely done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graceland56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The service was good but the food terrible, very small portions & very expensive. I ordered chicken breast with bubble & squeak, what I received was the smallest chicken leg in the world with basic mashed potato with about 2 miniscule pieces of cabbage thrown in.
When I queried why I was given chicken leg instead of breast, instead of coming clean and admitting that they didn't have any breast they tried to b.s their way out of it by saying that it was the cut of meat - since when does chicken breast have a leg bone in it! My husband had ribs which were cut up & placed in a bowl to try to make it look like there were more than there actually was, this was accompanied by about 6 french fries. I suppose they don't care, they get the holiday trade. Another rip off - they charge for their car park which unless you spend over £5.00 in the pub you don't get back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephNewtonAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Whilst we found the service second to none and highly efficient (for example pay and order up front so no waiting around to be waited on by a passing waiter), the food is very basic.

For example the chips are ok, but nothing like as good as they might be. Beef pie was again just ok. Good place for children and a nice interior.
Nothing wrong with the food, but as I say, fairly baisc fayre done to reasonable standard. To become good, basics like chips, need to be spot on - served piping hot and crisp.

I can see how some would think it was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morocinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

If you're over 5'2" don't wear heels, this place is authentic 13th centuary, and not designed for tall people.

Over an hour wait for a table, but had a free apple and a pint of tanglefoot.

I love this place...

Room Tip: Book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8411399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Property: The Smuggler's Inn
Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing