We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great walking weekend”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Hampshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great walking weekend”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We chose The Smuggler's as it's right on the South West Coastal Path and an ideal base for walking. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room clean and quite spacious. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and thought the food was good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast on the first morning was OK, but the scrambled eggs were very over cooked; we opted for poached eggs the second morning and they were fine. Quality beer in the bar from Hall & Woodhouse provides an excellent end to a day's walking :-)

The walk from Osmington Mills to Lulworth Cove is excellent, returning via the higher route along the ridge. A nice day's walk with another Hall & Woodhouse pub in Lulworth Cove for a lunch break!

Overall a great stay and have no hessitation in returning or recommending. I imagine the bar and restaurant gets very busy in the summer months due to the nearby holiday homes and cabins.

Room Tip: Room 2 was quite spacious. The bath was small but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    111
    64
    46
    41
See reviews for
147
190
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

smugglers in is a lovely pub....great location and lovely setting, meals were a little pricy, we dined as 3 adults and 4 kids...i thought the kids meals were appauling...us adults all had a lovely meal, but then my 10yr old sons chicken roast dinner came out which consisted of a very small and dry chicken breast, about 3 tiny spuds and a few carrots....it was ludicrous for the £4 it cost us and i had one very hungry and dissapointed lad. the staff and place itself was nice - apart from the dreadful problem with wasps. Inside they have a big barrell of fresh apples that the kids can help themselves too. Bit of a shame about the toilets, the floors were very wet and there was soggy toilet paper all over floor but in honesty i think this was mainly due to other parents allowing their kids in and out the toilet un supervised. we would go back again, mainly as we are in osmington yearly, but we would'nt eat there again, simply as we are a family with kids - would,nt say no if it was just us adults though as meals were much better and more generous.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauradee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Found this pretty pub next to a beautiful beach, although you can't see the beach from the pub, whilst away in Dorest for the February half term.It was warm and cosy and served great pub grub. Fast and efficient service with really friendly staff. Just what we wanted and will be sure to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Visited this pub/restaurant while staying in local area. The welcome we received was warm and welcoming. Restaurant pleasantly laid out, menu choice good. Service throughout meal exceptional, nothing too much trouble not rushed between courses. Waiter came to check all well regularly but not intrusive. Food quality excellent, hot and good size portions. Very reasonable prices for quality of food. Only downside is its too far from home to come on a regular basis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Visited after a trip to the coast - lovely pub with good atmosphere. Welcomed families and was busy when we went in. However we were greeted immediately and despite seeing a polite notice to order at the bar we were quickly seated and drinks/food brought to us.
Good size portions of food and well presented. Many staff working and service was excellent
Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This restaurant prides itself on its sea view. There is a sea view but it is from the car park not the restaurant !! The Pub is definately by the sea, but in a hollow so there are no views. After a forty five minute wait for the food, ( which we did not mind) it was very disappointing when it arrived. I did not expect too much as the restaurant is part of a chain, but the children's meal of chicken was extremely dry, as was the chicken in the chicken and leek pie . My first two choices were sold out so I had fish and chips, which were quite frankly awful. The fish was far too greasy, and the chips just cooked! All meals were not presented well and were very poor value for money. We will not be visiting this chain of pubs again as you can get cheaper food far better cooked.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have visited the ' smugglers ' on numerous occasions and have always been impressed by the quality of the food, so it was slightly disappointing to find it was just average this time. New ownership may explain this change. It was still a decent meal in a very picturesque location. We eat outside and our grandchildren enjoyed free run of the grounds and the play area. The staff were very helpful and when our main course was delayed through an oversight, the manager apologised personally and gave us complimentary coffee and desserts. We will return but it will be a shame if a great location and excellent staff are let down by falling off in the standard of the food on offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,034 reviews
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
451 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Property: The Smuggler's Inn
Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing