We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food fair price”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food fair price”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I went to smugglers once and I have to say I enjoyed it so much I go there all the time now :) it's the first place of when I think where to go. The food is great and the service is lovely all the staff are happy to help and never stop smiling. I would like to say thank you to all the staff for making every time I come great :) cheers keep up the hard work

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    102
    56
    43
    35
See reviews for
136
173
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed one night after finding a last minute Sunday Bank Holiday deal on a website. The staff (particularly Barbie) were very helpful and booked us in for dinner, even though it was extremely busy. The room itself was cosy, with a relatively low ceiling, which is to be expected from the style of the pub,. The bed was clean, comfortable and large enough for my rather tall other half! The bathroom had a low ceiling (again expected), which meant the shower head was very low (even for my 5'8 self) and meant several instances of banged heads! The location of the pub is fantastic, alas the view from our room wsn't great. In short, was very enjoyable! Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Idyllic spot. Room was pleasant and clean (not a great view, shame). Good furniture and colour scheme. Bathroom was very clean. Fluffy towels, tea and coffee making facilities. Cooked breakfast the next morning was fine. Pleasant staff. A decent b&b.
Restaurant was very very busy in the evening with families. Food was hot, and no delay in waiting for it to be served. Don't like gimmicky way of serving chips in old baked bean cans... just makes the portions a little on the mean side quite frankly. Staff are very polite.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a sea view so there's nothing to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We ate at this pub the back end of last year and really rated the food, but we took nothing for granted on our return this May.

The menu is essentially restricted to pub classics, which we like. I'd far rather have pie and chips done well than a soggy beef Wellington.

To our delight the food was once again excellent on our return. We visited twice in a week with a medium sized party and all were very impressed with the food.

Announcing a menu item as "award winning" sets a high bar, which their steak and ale pie passes by a mile. Other highlights include the blue cheese burger and the deserts - all of them(!) - but in particular the St Clement's pudding was memorable.

I take the comments from some of the others that portion sizes - especially chips - are on the moderate size for big eaters, but the size of the puddings made up for that.

The pub accommodates all, including children and dogs, with a kids menu that went down very well. We felt comfortable and the service was efficient and staff pleasant. Overall the pub has unique character with a professional but friendly air.

What is perhaps most remarkable is the consistency of quality - pubs this size often struggle to churn out consistently good food, but I feel between us we've had enough meals now to be reasonably confident that the operation is capable of delivering excellent pub food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Went to this pub on 24th may. We both had fish and chips but I don't think it was cod. Glad we went for the large fish as when the meal came out there was very few chips on the plate and the peas has lose a lot of colour. Best part of the night was the pint of badgers .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robinbluewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
So sorry to hear that we didn't make your day when you visited us. Our dishes are created to a strict specification to ensure consistent portion sizes, but I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the size of yours. If you'd let your waitress know at the time I'm sure we could have thrown in a side portion of chips in an attempt to meet your requirements. I will pass on your comments to the kitchen team about your peas - we were extremely busy over that Bank Holiday but our guests should still expect food produced to the highest standard. Thank you for your feedback, we hope that we can continue to improve our hospitality that you'll be leaving us a happy guest next time.

On a plus point - so glad to heard you enjoyed your Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Table booked for 8pm made the night before, upon arrival to be told the food wait is 2 hours, including starters! No apology, just told its the way it is and we could elsewhere. This is the only pub in the area so we had no choice but to wait. There was no offer of a free drink or any other compensation. The table next to us left after waiting almost 2hrs for starters. I asked the waitress why if we had booked were we not called and told the situation and her answer was this is the way this place is run by booking a table you don't get ant sort of special treatment. So in summary to anyone thinking of eating here on a Bank Holiday DON'T GO unless you are not hungry or are happy spending lots of money on drinks before the food finally comes!!!

Not to mention dirty wine glasses and open your own bottle service!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Messeyjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James K, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your review - I'm so sorry to hear that we didn't make your day when you visited us. As our team member mentioned, a table booking only ensures that you have a table waiting for you and unfortunately during very busy periods it is necessary to introduce an indicative wait time to all guests. We were extremely busy over that Bank Holiday weekend but our guests should still expect excellent service and food produced to the highest standard. We are so sorry to have fallen short of the standards that we strive for on this occasion, and that you weren't offered any kind of compensation for the inconvenience at the time. We'd love to have the opportunity to take care of you in future, so please do pop in and we'd love to make it up to you and show why so many people rate The Smugglers so highly on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent a few days in Dorset and our friends took us here for lunch. From memory the pub is over 400 years old. We had an amazing lunch in front of the fire place and enjoyed the afternoon drinking some great English Ale's. If you want a great English country pub experience then this is definitely the place. Reasonable prices with a great menu. If it is cold, get that place in front of the fireplace. Pub is also pet friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thespgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Property: The Smuggler's Inn
Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing