We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the smugglers inn and good food. Arrived on a Thursday afternoon, room was ready early and very nice comfy room with everything you need - few cobwebs around but otherwise clean. We had early dinner at the pub (with kids) so no issues with waiting for food though later on when we ordered puddings around 8pm we were told it would be an hour wait for food. Great entertainment from local Morris band! Finally excellent breakfast and able to sit outside again as lovely weather.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    102
    56
    43
    35
See reviews for
136
173
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were camping up the road and thought we'd give this a try for a nice meal. I'm afraid it's a case of pure greed on behalf of the chain who owns it. They have crammed so many tables in (especially outside) and obviously haven't the facilities to cater for that amount. We had our first 3 orders for food turned down as they had run out. We ordered the fish and chips and it was such a long wait it was dark by the time they brought it out and the portion was smaller than a child's dinner. I had 5 chips. Obviously they were running low on everything so were skimping, but still charging full price. The only saving grace was the setting and the real ale. The pub really should go back to being a local independently owned pub doing good seafood and local produce - such a shame. Nice for just a drink sat in the garden. The toilets left a lot to be desired too. With the amount of people using them they should be cleaned a lot more - quite disgusting - there was water (well I hope it was water) all over the floor and toilet roll - yuck!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We walked all the way from Lulworth Cove and had drunken all our water so we were desperately thirsty. We hit a very busy lunch time and waited 6 deep at the bar just to get a drink!

20 mins later we ordered our drinks and took them outside to have. The setting of this pub and the views make it popular but they needed double the number of staff to cope with the number of people visiting.

Not sure if we would bother next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank StressedStudent00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Second evening in a row , poor service at a bar and rude front of the house staff , disappointing food ... All the signs of a place badly managed that is only saved by the location !!! Shame as it looks so pitoresque ...

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Spring913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Clearly a very popular venue the Sugglers is showing all the telltale signs of a place that doesn't have to try too hard. In the last 4 years its gone downhill in our experience.
Bar staff consistently getting drinks wrong, average food that took a long time to arrive and a general feeling that you could go elsewhere for a better experience.
Only the location and Badger beer saves this from a worse rating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SethandAlfiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and I wish I could have stayed longer. The Inn is beautifully located on a cliff on the coastal walking path, with a large outdoor sitting area. It is extremely picturesque.
Our room was really nice with wooden floor boards, tasteful seaside decoration and a very nice light bathroom. You felt like you were visiting your favourite Aunty at the seaside.
The restaurant was very busy but all the food (breakfast as well as lunch/dinner) we had was good, no complaints at all.
I would really recommend this Inn and I hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teekake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in the Smugglers for 4 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent, especially the Larder Plate and the breakfast which was basically whatever you wanted from a cooked and cold breakfast. The staff were extremely nice, very helpful and really friendly. We had a problem with the wi-fi in our room(4) and around the pub and the mattress on the bed felt as though the springs were rather near the surface but apart from that had a great stay. We especially enjoyed the proximity to the walk to Ringstead Bay along the cliffs. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Property: The Smuggler's Inn
Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing