We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a 3 day working holiday and it was easily the worst of the B and B's we stayed in. £110 was way over priced for a room that was tired and basic. On our arrival there were no towels which we had to chase and there was no sign of extra bedding for our son which we'd organised prior to our arrival.
Breakfast was ok but the service very slow due to minimal staffing. Having paid under £100 for 2 rooms the previous nights for great experiences it felt like a rip off paying my bill here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pevsner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, HW at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was so disappointing, we always value all feedback that we receive and always endeavour to improve our services and to make peoples day.

I am aware that sometimes we are slow at finishing the laundry in time for all new arrivals, to try and solve this issue moving forwards we have now sourced a linen company who will be delivering crisp clean sheets and fluffy towels on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    98
    55
    43
    35
See reviews for
135
168
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having walked the coastal path yesterday, we, as a family of four had high hopes of a delightful early dinner in such a spectacular setting. Furthermore we were meeting friends who had moved down to Weymouth years earlier that we had n't seen since they left. Given that we were coming from different directions we would all arrive at slightly different times.

On entering the pub, the first of us to arrive were greeted. No, sorry not greeted, scowled at by Gary (apparently the manager????!!!!!). When we enquired if there was a table available for seven people we were informed that currently there was not. According to the computer there was one for five, immediately available. Brilliant!!!! The computer also suggested that there was a table for two close by. Excellent Gary thank you!! 'Oh' said Gary "you can't reserve it though. If other customers arrive then I'm obliged to let them have it. If you'd have phoned, you could have made a reservation."
What absolute nonsense, the most unhelpful front of house I've ever encountered. "So, if I go outside now, dial through on my mobile, I can reserve a table?" But given the fact that five of us are here now and the other two are only ten minutes away I'm unable to. Furthermore in a distinctly arrogant and uppity tone we were instructed that under NO circumstances were we allowed to seat seven at the table allocated to us.

Come on Gary use your common sense. Anyone would have thought that you were managing a commercial business.

So ten minutes later the remaining two from our party arrived, the table for two had been indeed allocated to other customers. Gary and the computer in their infinite wisdom then allocated a four seater table to our two somewhere in the vicinity of the rest of us. When it was pointed out to him that his arrangements were unsatisfactory and that the purpose of dining out was that we would like to converse with each other, the look of disdain and the 'like it or lump it' reaction that we received was not only appalling from a customer service viewpoint but was just down right rude.

Reluctantly, we decided to stay and 'make the best of it' primarily because we had two children and a diabetic our party. They needed to eat!!!!!

The food served was OK and the service we received from the delightful Karen ( who incidentally was completely embarrassed with the way that we'd been treated) was excellent.

Would we comeback???

Yes, if you can train your staff in the art of reasonable customer service. Having read other reviews posted it looks like we aren't the only ones

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hicklip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Unhelpful staff Poor facilities. ( ie no bedside cabinet nowhere to put shampoo etc in shower, no way to control heating, quite noisy in morning Very shabby sheets need replacing. Towels frayed and well past sell by date. the room was very dirty and very poorly maintained. The wires from tv and kettle not concealed very ugly just hanging down wall and quite dangerous. Shower temperature difficult to controls gets to a very hot temperature and there was mold and cobwebs in bathroom. The windows were not cleaned, walls cracked, paint peeling, floor was filthy (wood floorboards not sealed and trapped dirt in cracks...it was disgusting and urgently need attention Wifi advertised in all areas but when I complained told that it was tough and but Not available in bed room outside their control ....I suggest they purchase a cheap range extender to rectify this problem I think this could be a really good hotel but very poor standards make this hotel one i wouldnt want to return to in its current state. If you are disabled you have to go up a very steep path to the car park.

Room Tip: Fantastic location but the room I stayed which was at the front was dirty, shabby and is about the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglasdoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, HW at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was so disappointing, we value all feedback that we receive and always endeavour to improve our services and to Make peoples day.

Just this week we have smartened up all four of our rooms by fixing all cracks and broken tiles and other little remedies that needed doing. We have also just sourced a linen company that will be delivering clean crisp sheets and fluffy towels on a regular basis, all laundry previously was done in-house but due to a higher demand we realised that it was becoming a little too much for us to do.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed also with the strength of the Wi-Fi signal, we have had this looked at many a time and the fact that the building is 13th century is just too much of a match for most modern technology. We have adjusted what we now advertise for the rooms but I think most places have hot and cold spots for signals.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited the smugglers as a group of 17 people staying in a campsite up the road. We are locals (we only live 8miles away) and had always had a good experience of the pub.

It was May bank holiday, it was sunny and it was busy so i will cut them some slack in this review. However, when we got there, we were greeted and seated, a pile of menus dumped on the table and told the waitress would be back for our drink order. She returned and we ordered our drinks - all ok so far. Then she came back to take our food order 15minutes later - by this point the drinks had still not arrived. We all ordered - a couple of people were making final decisions and the waitress stood looking at them, red faced, huffing and puffing tapping her pen at them.

The food came - i don't recall it being a long wait but the men had twice summoned the waitress over to order more drinks in the time it took to arrive. The meal was lovely - my steak (rump) was a little fatty and chewy round the edges but cooked well. I personally didn't like french fries with steak but the coleslaw was yummy. No one came to check our meal was ok but we did have 2 lots of cutlery and 2 lots of sauces brought over!

We asked for a dessert menu and again this was dumped on the table in a pile. some of us had dessert and it came relatively quickly - the brownie was lovely.

Then we asked for the bill. The bill was dropped onto our table by our waitress who then walked away. We had already decided to split the bill between 5 families and so it was £155 split 5 ways - we commented how cheap it was £31 a family!! The ladies went to round up the kids and the men went to pay. When they got to the till, the waitress (who had sever us and who had delivered the bill) told us that we hadn't paid enough and this wasn't our bill!! She pointed out some soup and some salad we hadn't had - we didn't check it, we just looked at the total and split it! The men pointed out that this was the bill she had given us! She argued with them about it - making us feel like we were trying to defraud them! anyway, she printed another bill for almost £100 more and we paid it and left.

It did leave an unsavoury taste in our mouths! (not the food, that was nice).

The restaurant is no longer the lovely seaside pub it once was where you could go for a quiet drink, a date, a game of pool. It is now a terribly busy holiday makers pub! I think they do manage to get a lot of business from people camping up the road who want to walk somewhere and who they know won't be returning - maybe that is why the standard of staff service is so poor.

since this visit, we have mentioned it to some other locals who have all unanimously said they think its gone downhill there. Such a shame,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoLuJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

After visiting the Smugglers in March, when the food and service was so good, we took guests there this week. The service was o.k but certain things were forgotten where the poor waiters were under pressure. No sugar with coffee, no cutlery etc.

the food was the biggest issue, the new menu, quite frankly is well under par compared to March. Sorry Smugglers but to have such difference in standards in and out of holiday maker season is not acceptable.

There were items on the menu that we were told had run out only after we had ordered them.

Not good

Sorry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzap48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I visited last night for the second time with great hopes after enjoying an afternoon in the beer garden a few years ago. Unfortunately the Smuggler's was short staffed which meant that I had to ask twice for my dirty table to be cleaned and had to chase my food which took an age to come. The manager (I think) brought my food saying "it was just being plated up" when he went to ask where it was. I doubt this was the case as it was only lukewarm so I can only assume it had been sitting somewhere waiting to be taken out. The burger bun was clearly also a frozen one which had been toasted - it had that familiar rock hard feel around the edges. Like I say, I was really disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Absolutely stunning place to eat,drink,sleep and the surroundings are breathtaking and the staff are fantastic!
Barbie and Mike treated us like royalty and I can't wait it return there
Mike and Barbie work very very hard as this place is a gold mine I imagine there feet must be killing em at the end of the shift
Service was excellent also from the breakfast and dinner staff plenty of selection on the menus

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nice to wake up in when the sun is shining
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
11.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Property: The Smuggler's Inn
Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing