We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were Smugglers Inn virgins until Tuesday 19th August when the 5 of us ate here. We booked a table on arrival and sat in the garden until the table was ready which was about half an hour. The Inn was very busy so we were amazed by this! Very cosy inside! We all ordered a main and the child of the group ordered a starter that was soup of the day. Waitresses and waiters very attentive! Food was delicious! Atmosphere great! Toilets very clean all in all a fantastic evening!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nicky8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Been here on many occasions, every time it's been fantastic, the customer service is beyond excellent they just can't do enough to make sure your visit is the best it can be. I'm disabled and the help and support I recieve here is beyond reproach. I note some complain about the price of food, ok the food is pub grub served in an extremely popular location so it is is, don't expect fine dining expect great pub food served with a smile and friendliness. The rooms are great very clean extremely well serviced. Can't wait to go back very soon. Must say if campers want to complain they could always cook under canvas, or perhaps camping isn't that great!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RICE7922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were staying at the local campsite and this pub was nearest, within walking distance. Great views from carpark across the bay, however the inn itself was very disappointing. The inn is very busy and has unfortunately compromised on the quality of its food for the prices they charge. Toilets not very well maintained and overall quite dirty.
Staff always friendly and polite

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank FergusW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

In my view shamelessly exploiting families 1 glass of wine 2 fruit shoots 1 pint, nearly £15!!! I genuinely thought a mistake had been made! Very picturesque but really not worth £15 a round. If you are willing to queue 20 minutes for a drink, this place will suit you

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lovely pub in a very pretty setting. The food was very tasty (especially the toffee apple pie) and the staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Having walked there from Eweleaze campsite, the flush toilets were a particular highlight!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank UKSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was recently on holiday in the Osmington area with my family and we visited The Smuggler's Inn various times throughout the week. The location is picturesque, located right next to the beach and therefore sitting outside in the sun was lovely. The drinks at The Smuggler's Inn are very reasonably priced, pretty much what you would expect of any pub or restaurant and there is a very good choice on offer.
We also had two evening meals at The Smuggler's Inn and the food was lovely and was thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. The food prices are a little expensive but this can be justified by the high quality, although certain dishes have fairly small portion sizes such as the lasagne. On arrival the dish it was served in looked very big but it was only half full which was disappointing, especially when it tasted so nice! My only other criticism is that the menu is fairly small, I think that a little bit more choice is needed as fussy eaters may struggle to find something that they would like.
Despite this, The Smuggler's Inn is a lovely pub and restaurant which is ideal for families, couples, etc and the staff were very friendly and provided an excellent service at all times.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank 674_k_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

On a recent camping trip we ended up here every evening! The staff are so friendly, the location is great - out of the wind, but still a great sun trap! There are plenty of dog bowls for filling up with water and our girls certainly had a great time meeting the local Dogs!
Prices are a lot more expensive that what we are used to, but you definitely get a full pint! So much so, you have to take a gulp at the bar otherwise you'd spill it everywhere!
Great atmosphere & would definitely return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dyetiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
478 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.2 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,113 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range: £59 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing