We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with great views”

The Bankes Arms Country Inn
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch with great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

They do not have a big variety of food on the menu, so we went for fish & chips (price around 10 pounds), which was good. You order and pay at the counter and your food is delivered at the table.
We were lucky the weather was nice, so we could sit in one of the tables across the road, therefore we could enjoy a fabulous view of the sea...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leyla_K7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    177
    113
    59
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful service, awful food. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

As a regular to these parts in all seasons I have visited the Banks Arms before and always thought it was "ok" but the location and views made up for it.

This week it was just awful. Hot chocolate; cold. Food: cold. Service appalling and indifferent. When we complained they took it back re-fried or microwaved and back the food came.

The staff were plenty but they practically ignored us when trying to gain there attention. (Less than 2 metres from us). We eat out in varying eateries from very high end to average and rarely feel the need to write such a bad review.

What a shame.

Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELBUNNY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect spot from which to launch a walk to Old Harry and the cliffs above Swanage. The beer and food are excellent.

However, I know it's very busy in summer, but please Management, get someone assigned to maintain the ladies toilets. My lady guests said they were third world. You are doing yourselves an injustice. This is a key component of your product and you should know it. National Trust members who come to you because of the blessing of the car park are not bohemians...

Helpful?
Thank Normanstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good quiet pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

relaxed quiet pub there was abeer festival on when we were down studland bay was an excellent night didn't have any food as there was a burger van outside which was a good idea after the festival

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jayneandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location with sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a great pub for lunch or dinner any day of the week. It is also a great place for a pint of ale as it has its own micro-brewery. They also have a beer and music festival and numerous events throughout the year. There are lots of great walks and mountain bike trails near here and the best cycle rides and walks around the Purbecks strangley seem to demand a refuling stop here. There is a good varety of nice quality pub food and they seem quite capable of efficiently feeding the huge number of people who like to frequent this place which is polular with local and hoiday makers. Just note that if you come by car then the car park is a Natural trust one and will cost as much as a couple of drinks. There is a huge amount of outdoor seating with a great view of the sea and there is plenty of room for kids to let off steam without getting in the way. The pub itself looks the part being made from Purbeck stone and covered in a very attractive Ivy. You can also stay here as they have quite a few rooms, there is also camping very near by.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyBelcher360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bankes Arms Country Inn also viewed

 
Studland Bay, Swanage
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Bankes Arms Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing