We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bankes Arms
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Studland Bay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
71
86
71
76
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
86
71
76
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold harry rocksmicro brewerydog friendly pubtuna steaktraditional pubnational trust car parkbusy pubsea basscheese ploughmansstudland bayfresh saladlog firealesdogswalkerspurbeckisle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I guess the price and location are the best about the Bankes Arms . So whats not so good, the place is run by young students/ locals who dont feel they are there to offer you a quality service, the rooms and bar are very dated and general cleanliness isnt high on the priority list.The place is very busy with hundreds of meals being served daily and to be fair the food was ok.But you feel it could be so much more with a little care and attention.The recently opened Pig on the beach is fantastic but boy to you have to pay for that. I would go back to the Bankes arms but hopefully they read the reviews and do up their game.

Room Tip: we had room 10 great sea view. room dated , shower and toilet in a cupboard but its ok if all you want to do is sleep
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We use this pub fairly regularly when stopping for lunch or a drink after a walk or ride on the purbecks. Menu is limited and fairly pricey but we've never had a bad lunch. We always sit outside and take in the great views. Beware the wasps in summer. Staff could clear away plates and glasses quicker to help with that! Although they are always pretty manic on a sunny day!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank eejayflipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just had a 3 day midweek break. The location is brilliant, views stunning, and peaceful. The rest is average at best and very poor worst. Staff are casual and show little idea of customer service. The food is poor and badly presented. On a quiet midweek evening many tables were covered with the plates, glasses, and general debris of customers who had long since departed. The bar furniture is shabby, and some in need of repair/replacement. With a modest outlay and someone to instil the idea of being customer friendly, these problems could easily be overcome and the Pub turned into the gem it should be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick Richa... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Despite the beautiful location, this is a terrible pub. The beer tasted contaminated, the food was poor and the staff off-hand. The potentially lovely garden was strewn with litter and clearly had not been cleaned for days. I have lunched at this pub for over 40 years and it is sad to witness such a dramatic downward spiral across the whole spectrum of customer service and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardWiltshiireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had an early dinner outside one Sunday evening. Only four choices on the menu, which was poor, and most quite expensive. My wife's chicken in black bean sauce was OK. My order arrived and I was too hungry to send it back, even though I could see that my order for "chilli" had been interpreted as vegetarian chilli and not chilli con carne as expected. We were on the far side of the very large lawn so it took a long time for staff to bring each plate across, making it even more difficult to send something back. The (large lump of) chick peas contained so much chilli powder that it was almost inedible. I ate about half of it and had a severely upset stomach the day after.

Yes I could have been more assertive and waited another 15-20 mins - it will teach me to order food when extremely hungry! As my wife's dish was perfectly pleasant I think three stars is fair. I think a lot of pub food in the UK is poor, so "average" is not a bad rating, but they need to raise their game.

Room Tip: Don't sit too far from the kitchen. Don't choose the vegetarian dish.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobjob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews