We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Studland Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Studland Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will go again.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were welcomed warmly by Rick and Bonny on our arrival,and they were very helpful throughout.
Rectory Cottage is perfectly sited for a quiet,relaxing break,close to the beach and a great setting-off point for walks.
Very clean room and en suite shower,generous,well cooked breakfast with plenty of choice.
Will return.

Andrew and Jane

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andsad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south east
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Have just returned from a break at The Rectory. A very pleasant stay. Room comfortable and clean with balcony overlooking field containing horses, rabbits and deer. En suite large and well provided. Hosts very friendly and provided a good breakfast.
In all a idyllic location and a few minutes walk from coastal work and local hostelry. Will return.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra to obtain room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euniceSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this delightful cottage. Great location for the beach, good walks and the local pubs. Rick and Bonny could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful and set us up for the day. We would definitely stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have just booked with Bonny for our second stay at this peaceful and sweet cottage.
The last time we visited it was for an equestrian break and was booked because of it's close proximity to the stables. We had a wonderful time and have chosen to visit again because of the Cottages own merits, the warm welcome and the wonderful breakfast that sets you up for an active day ahead.
The setting is idillic. The cottage is secluded and has comfotable beds which are much needed after sampling all the delights the area has to offer. The beach and pub with lovely food, ales and views is just a few minutes walk away.

I spend too much time in big, impersonal hotels, so this charming cottage with it's traditional charms is just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissajB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The cottage is tucked away in a quiet location behind the 'Middle beach'. We stayed in the large en-suite room with a balcony and living room area. The bed was comfortable and the room clean and spacious. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. In particular, they had a wealth of information about the locality which helped us make the most of our short stay. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The B&B is located within five minutes walk of both the Middle beach and South beach, about five minutes walk from the Bankes Arms Country Inn, and five minutes from local shop. One morning we had the pleasure of watching three wild Sika deer in the field opposite the house. In short it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We visited just before Easter this year and really enjoyed our stay. We felt the rooms were tastefully furnished and the facilities clean and up to date. Rick and Bonny provided a sumptuous breakfast the following morning, including the traditional fry-up, cereal and melon, and also helped us with directions to nearby sights and places of interest. Very enjoyable all round.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tongo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Pleasant setting and welcome by the hosts, good cooked breakfasts. However let down by our room which was poky, cheaply furnished, and separated from the 'bathroom' by a flimsy partition. The bathroom had no shelving for toiletries or hooks for clothing, which had to be discarded on the floor or the toilet seat. Sadly, not good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, however I would like to take the opportunity to correct some innaccurate points in your review. There are clothes hooks on the bedroom door and there is also a shelf above the washbasin for toiletries etc. The room you occupied has a proper studwork partition which is in no way flimsy (see pictures) and has a louvred pine folding door to the shower room (not a "bathroom") which has a Mira power shower in a large shower cubicle, and a washbasin and toilet. The bedroom itself is furnished appropriately with pine shelf unit to accommodate the television and tea/coffee tray and other items as required and a pine wardrobe with hanging and storage space. We do not "skimp" on anything to do with our
business and the number of regular repeat bookings would indicate to us that we offer very good accommodation, food, hospitality & value for money to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studland Bay
2.4 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
411 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rectory Cottage Manor Road, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Studland Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Studland Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rectory Cottage offering superior Bed and Breakfast accomodation in the heart of the picturesque village of Studland, Dorset. Set well back from the lane we offer ample private parking for our guests and we are only 5 minutes walk to the Beach, Village Inn and Riding Stables. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rectory Cottage Bed & Breakfast Studland Bay, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing