We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful One Night Stay That Felt Like A Week”
Review of Knoll House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knoll House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Studland Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent Saturday 1st June in Knoll House and had a most wonderful time. Describing the best feature about Knoll House is extremely difficult - the location and views are stunning, the long term staff treat you like old friends and the short term staff very quickly learn how to as well, the food is simple but delicious and every single member of the family - parents, children and dogs - have an absolute ball. Our one night stay left us feeling so happy and refreshed it was as though we had been away for a week.

We have been before several times and each year the winter refurbishment has a pleasant surprise for you. This year we found that the rather cramped bathroom had been replaced with an amazing wet room, with plentiful hot water, at a fabulous pressure and there is a even a very easy to operate and comfortable seat. The drainage angles work brilliantly as the toilet and the big fluffy towels stay dry.

If you have never been before Knoll House is a little step back in time. Young children have a separate dining room. You eat breakfast together there as a family, then the children have their lunch there and retire to the supervised playroom while adults can enjoy their lunch in peace in the adult dining room. There is a high tea served at 5, just when little ones need it, then there are babysitters who listen out for the children whilst parents enjoy their own dinner from 7.30 onwards. Our daughter started joining us for dinner in the evenings from around the age of 8, although that is at the discretion of the hotel (if you have a child you still wants to plaster her face with spaghetti hoops she probably would not enjoy the adult dining room - and neither would you).

The wonderful advantage of this system is that children get food they like at a time when they need it, rather than having to wait for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can also have access to the children's dining room 24 hours a day, where there is a supply of milk, ice packs, calpol and essentials you might need in the middle of the night. With someone else to do the cooking AND the clearing away, parents get a wonderful break.

The outside pool, with a shallow baby pool, is heated from the end of May, so we had a gorgeous time there this weekend. There is also an outside hot tub. If you are not so lucky with the weather as we were, there is also a small indoor pool and Jacuzzi, which is open for children under 14 for one hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon. There are no lifeguards, so you do need to supervise your own children. In fact there is a lovely notice up that says unaccompanied children will be given a puppy and an espresso! When we were there, there were some rather neglectful parents who were blissfully unaware of the damage and mayhem their little ones were causing - so no a floatation jacket is not a guaranteed life saving device for a three year old in the deep pool by themselves whilst you sit and read, and no children will not remember to take hearing aids out for themselves, nor will they be able to read the notice which says no diving as they stand on the top of some high railings and jump into very shallow water! Parents please remember everyone is on holiday to relax - NOT JUST YOU!

On site you have two tennis courts and a golf course and a brilliant play park (our thirteen year old had a quiet play when no other little children were around, just for old times sake). You are only a five minute walk from a beautiful, safe, sandy beach. We spent Sunday morning going for a gorgeous walk along the beach round to Middle Beach which has lovely rock pools when the tide is low.

Our dogs adore Knoll House. The staff keep dog biscuits behind the bar and there are bowls of gorgeous meaty leftovers for any dog that would like them. The rooms are always spotless, which I do not know how they manage as our dogs do love to leap into the peaty bogs on the heath and then decorate the room. Despite it being a dog friendly hotel housekeeping keep the place so immaculate you would never know.

We visited Knoll House a few years ago with friends, who did not "get" the place. Many of the things they did not like have now been updated, for instance the plumbing and the bathrooms which are now as good as the finest chic hotel anywhere. So if you have been before, but weren't too sure it was great value for money, you might want to revisit now as it has all the modern things you would expect along with all the old world charm of a bygone age.

It was a delightful discovery for us 12 years ago, and we hope that if any family is reading this to see if it is the sort of place they would like to stay and you do decide to give it a go, that you also make a wonderful discovery to take into your hearts and visit again and again.

Room Tip: If you do need a bath, please ask as we found (to our delight) that our room now had a wet rom inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shedfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sadness at departing after a blissful week at Knoll House, our eleventh visit. This time we stayed in one of the Garden Suites, perfect for early morning walks with the dogs, great bathroom with excellent shower, as always at Knoll House fantastic towels, typical of the tasteful quality throughout the hotel. At Knoll House the essentials remain the same which is why we return time and time again but there is no sense of complacency and we notice subtle changes on every visit which in no way detract from the very special quality of continuity and tranquility which is the essence of the hotel. We always enjoy the food at Knoll House and this visit we thought it particularly good and a particular delight was the well trained, friendly and always helpful staff. We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We recently revisited Knoll House to meet up with family for lunch. Our 3 kids love Knoll House, they havent stopped talking about it since! Lunch was reasonably priced, a vast buffet followed by main course and a sweet with drinks for the same sort of money that we'd pay in a decent pub.
My wifes sister was staying there for the week with her family and they took a family suite in the East wing which, we understand, has just been refurbished. Their room was very smart, clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. A spanking new wet room off the corridor seemed a particularly good idea.
Knoll House is very much a rare bastion from a bygone era. In a market saturated with identikit chain hotels this place really does offer good, old-fashioned British holiday charm. Its like being in someones fine old country house. Comfortable, quirky, delightful and very homely. We absolutely love it!
In other hotels we have stayed in recently, with televisions everywhere, saturated wifi and other electronic distractions our kids have to be prised away from the flickering screeens - at Knoll House they play! They race about, explore, read, draw and have adventures. Long may Knoll House resist the temptation to become like everywhere else.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have new bathrooms, the courtyard rooms are all completely refurbished with level a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merlin685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have stayed here 4 times in the last 15 years and I was pleased in the recent visist there were a number of changes for the better. The rooms had been modernised without losing some of their original charm.
The staff have always been friendly and helpful. There is a relaxed atmosphere about children and dogs which allows guests to feel relaxed when things do not go quite to plan.
I have on occassion in the past been disappointed about the quality of the food but on this most recent visist there was a marked improvement. The breakfasts and the desserts in the evenings were delicious. The starters and main courses were better than they have been in the past. There meat was properly cooked although did lack flavour which was a bit disappointning.
The location of the Hotel is idylic and flexible to cater for romantic get aways and family gatherings. They cater well forall age groups which is probably their best selling point.
The only irritation was the the prices of drinks which seems seemed excesssively marked up. A small glass of wine and half a beer was near as £9 and their cheapest table wine was over £20.
Would I recommend it... certainly so long as you are not on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blistergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed in Knoll House over two weekday nights during the Easter holiday. We booked a family room on full board (2 adults and 2 children) and a single room for one adult, having heard positive things from two families who'd stayed here over many years - middle aged parents who'd visited the hotel when they were little and wanted to re-live the experience with their children.

We have stayed in many family friendly hotels of a similar price over the years - including Fowey Hall, Woolley Grange, Bedruthan Steps, The Bull Hotel in Bridport, The Elms in Abberley, and Priory Bay on the Isle of Wight as well as the Flying Boat Club in Tresco - and I can only suggest that the many who write of their stay at Knoll House in glowing terms on this site are simply unaware of what else is available for the money, or more precisely, how much the other child friendly hotels have improved while Knoll House has preserved everything but its prices in 1970's aspic.

We paid £1,327.70 for the two nights - it would have been an extra £32 had we not spotted the 'cancellation insurance' charge added without previous mention (thanks to another Tripadvisor reviewer for pointing this out). It was removed from our bill with an apology when we pointed it out.

As previously said, Knoll House is stuck in the 1970s - stone cladding, woodchip walls, and the smell of past dinners permanently infused into the garish carpets. If you're hoping for WIFI, you'll need to linger within a few yards radius of the reception desk as that's as far as the signal travels. Our bedroom was extremely basic - a Premier Inn has better facilities. No TV (apparently you have to ask if you want one but the hotel didn't inform us of this), no phone, no tea making facilities, cheap bed and bed linen, hard foam pillows, and - an peculiar 70s throwback - the handbasin located in the bedroom rather than the bathroom, so if you need to wash your hands after visiting the lavatory or if you need to clean your teeth after your partner has dropped off, you have to do this in the bedroom. One of the children's beds was an extremely basic, elderly camp bed - a fraction of the size of a standard single bed and very uncomfortable.

At mealtimes they sit you on the same table throughout your visit, so you find yourself sat adjacent to the same families for each meal, looking out on the same view. The food is stunningly mediocre - real school dinners stuff. Most telling is breakfast though - a meal that's actually quite hard to do badly these days. Clearly no one has told the chef you no longer have to cook fried bread by floating it in the deep fat fryer, serve damp uncrunchy toast, provide only long life orange juice as well as woefully weak and watery coffee. As a nation currently awash with coffee houses, we all now know what decent coffee tastes like. Yet this hotel doesn't even possess a proper coffee machine - from what I could see not a single bean is freshly ground on the premises. The waiting staff were attentive, but of the few that served us, one Eastern European and another Japanese lady found it difficult to understand our orders (needless to say a request for 'soldiers' to accompany a child's boiled egg was unsuccessful). Everything served appeared to be the cheapest quality or cut - the bacon was tough, fat and tasteless, the egg yolks of the palest yellow. It's a breakfast that would shame most self-respecting B&Bs.

Our first day at the hotel was cold with a particularly bitter wind. The children were keen to swim so we thought we'd make use of the indoor swimming pool I'd been told about when making the booking. For the avoidance of doubt - it's not an 'indoor swimming pool'. It's a 'plunge pool'. And most extraordinary of all, it's only open for three hours in the day - one hour in the morning and two hours in the afternoon.

There were some positives - the staff, particularly those in the children's dining room, are very helpful and friendly. And our kids liked the tea menu - including chocolate rice crispie cakes like they used to make them when I was a child and jelly set so firm your teaspoon bounces back off it at the first attempt. And the hotel of course enjoys a famously fabulous setting, with lots to do in the locality, particularly for children. But in terms of catering and basic amenities and facilities, our stay was very palpably not worth anywhere near the money we paid for it.

We discussed our visit to Knoll House with friends in the forties who are regular visitors with their kids. Their visits are paid for by elderly parents, who've been taking them since the 1970s - the annual stays have become a tradition they're happy to maintain. There are faded photographs of our friends playing in the wooden pirate ship which still stands in the playground by the car park. They know the cost is going up and up, that the food is ordinary at best and the bedrooms spartan, however they keep going back to keep the memory alive and share it with their children. But this can't go on indefinitely. The new families Knoll House needs to attract, families that lack the collective memory of idyllic past holidays spent there, but who have stayed at the many British luxury family hotels charging similar room rates for vastly superior facilities, will simply refuse to pay the kind of prices Knoll House is currently charging.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We have been visiting the Knoll House Hotel for several years, first with nieces and nephews and now with our own children (1 and 4). It is a fabulous traditional hotel in a superb situation - the facilities are fantastic and the National Trust beach at Stuldand is just a few minutes walk away (watersports equipment, tea room, white sand, ice cream....). The hotel staff could not be more helpful and accommodating, the children's dining room serves nutritious meals for the children and the kitchen is available 24 / 7 should you need to organise a quick bottle of milk or drink for a little one. We will be visiting each year for years to come... long may it last!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are simply lovely :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerson138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have just returned from a 1 night stay at the wonderful Knoll House. Apart from being situated in one of my favourite places in the whole world, it has made its mark on me.....in a very positive way!.....I stayed here with my best friend...we had a mooch around Swanage and then checked in. .....

.please see beyond the so called "butlins bungalows",.....

.we were greeted by a roaring logfire,...found our beautiful room, overlooking the sea, beautiful new shiny bathroom....FABULOUS Roberts radio....delicious 3 course dinner and a comfy bed to sleep in! Fresh pot of tea delivered to the room at 7.45!.....great breakfast......meander to the beach,.....swift
lime and soda and then a giddy up over the heath on a very steady steed, with thanks to Studland stables. HAPPY DAYS!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studland Bay
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
2.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,521 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoll House Hotel

Address: Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Studland Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Studland Bay
Price Range: £83 - £991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knoll House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Knoll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knoll Hotel Studland Bay
Knoll House Hotel Studland Bay, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing