We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beach”
Review of Shell Bay

Shell Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just not sure about the naturists - no very well signposted. Area is quite stunning and the beach is dog friendly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    42
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“No jacket required - see more with the National Trust”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

One of the best beaches you'll find, beautiful sand and safe swimming. Close to Bournemouth and an easy bus journey with the ferry included in the ticket price. The chain ferry as a foot passenger costs just £1 return and is part of the fun of getting there. If you fancy revealing all, there's a naturist area. Be warned and keep applying the sunscreen, otherwise you'll be leaving with pink bits. I was there last weekend, the sun is already strong and there's not much shade. Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was a wedding reception so not the normal menu, all i know is is that i had the best battered fish I've ever had there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Studland Bay - A Haven out of season”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a fantastic Place thanks to the National Trust Staff and Volunteers. Miles of clean Sand, sound of the surf and fresh air. Good car parking facilities, toilets, NT shop and Cafe at Knoll Beach. Best to visit in term time and out of season as very crowded in Summer but I'm sure you will find a little space. No shade so you will need a sun umbrella and windbreak. There is a nudist area -well signed for part of the beach so be forewarned if this is not for you. There are dog restriction and horse riding times for being on the beach. Lots of rubbish bins along the length. Enid Blyton wrote her Famous five books whilst staying at the Knoll Beach Hotel opposite and i don't think its changed since back in the 50's. From Knoll Beach to the ferry at Poole its about an hours walk. £1.00 return for foot passengers on the chain link ferry. NT cafes serves good coffee and food at reasonable prices. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best in winter as packed in summer”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I first went to Shell Bay nearly sixty years ago and it has not changed much since, firstly due to an eccentric owner and latterly thanks to the National Trust. I don't know whether the Harveys and Davies boats still run across the harbour mouth using lifeboats that took part in the Dunkirk evacuation, but the chain ferry is still running. Or you can approach it from Corfe. The first part of the beach was always the family area and the second part an early nudist beach, I believe it still is. There are still few amenities there, but at least there are now toilets. Beware sunstroke in the summer, there is no shade. On a sunny day in winter is my favourite time for walking the beach, isolated, peaceful and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shell Bay also viewed

 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Shell Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing