We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Shell Bay

Shell Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having spent a lot of time at this beach as a child, I was looking forward to revisiting it. I was disappointed at the state of the sand, it was full of bits of wood and had not been raked. In Estartit in Spain, a similar type of beach, the council clean it every day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    36
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely clean beach with easy access from the road. Gentle shelved beach into the sea. Relatively empty in June, which is amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just not sure about the naturists - no very well signposted. Area is quite stunning and the beach is dog friendly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“No jacket required - see more with the National Trust”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

One of the best beaches you'll find, beautiful sand and safe swimming. Close to Bournemouth and an easy bus journey with the ferry included in the ticket price. The chain ferry as a foot passenger costs just £1 return and is part of the fun of getting there. If you fancy revealing all, there's a naturist area. Be warned and keep applying the sunscreen, otherwise you'll be leaving with pink bits. I was there last weekend, the sun is already strong and there's not much shade. Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was a wedding reception so not the normal menu, all i know is is that i had the best battered fish I've ever had there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shell Bay also viewed

 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Shell Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing