We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shell Bay

Shell Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is your iconic sandy beach. I went there mid-morning and it was very quiet and peaceful. Very pretty and clean. Overlooks Bournemouth, Poole, Brownsea Island and the Sandbanks ferry. Large car park nearby with a short, pretty walk through a nature reserve to the beach, and there was also a seafood restaurant about a five minutes' walk away.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    33
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing soft sandy beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Perfect natural setting, lots of great space to play, gentle sloping sea, and lots of great boats to admire. Dunes, sand and sea, natural and unspoilt. Stunning studland never disappoints.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spicer-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Appalling service, bland food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went here one Sunday in July, at about 6pm. First of all there is no free parking. Once we arrived in the near-empty restaurant we were sat in the outside terrace area with great views however the sun was beating down on us. We asked to be moved to another table (in an empty restaurant save for one other table and was refused, the waiter citing that the place was fully booked). So we asked for the roof on the terrace to be lowered which was done with the waiter huffing that we were "taking all the lovely sunshine away".

After that we seemed to have been blacklisted by the staff - we didn't get complimentary bread and olives as the other three tables did (when they eventually arrived), they didn't refill our water jug (as they did to others without prompting), they didn't ask if our meals were ok and when we left they didn't say goodbye to us despite them hovering around the door - they just avoided eye contact with us. Not sure how we upset them!

The food was average - the dish of plaice and new potatoes was bland, the fish and chips came with fries and was good but no better than pub standard but the oysters were very fresh and delicious. I assume the prices are high for the view and that the restaurant has high-end ambitions.

The bad atmosphere and poor treatment by the staff ruined it for us despite the stunning views. We only ate here as we were starving, had already paid for parking and couldn't find any alternatives. I wouldn't recommend this place at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good service, lovely food but a bit pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good position, there is NO parking at the restaurant so on certain days the local car park is full and therefore a long walk to the restaurant

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice to see the boats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

a nice quiet beach where you can watch the boats entering the harbour and to have a paddle at the same time

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank psw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shell Bay also viewed

 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Shell Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing