We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last - a place that truly delivers great food, service, ambience”

The Pig on the beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uncomplicated and simple British garden food, true to the micro seasons and influenced by the coast, with the emphasis squarely on fresh, clean flavours. What can't be grown in theKitchen Garden, or in the extensive vegetable and fruit beds, is sourced locally.
Dorset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“At last - a place that truly delivers great food, service, ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

There are lots of places which sound good, but which disappoint.
I approached the Pig on the Beach with limited expectations therefore.
I was very pleasantly surprised by the service, which was friendly, slick, competent - and most importantly, rapid enough in a busy setting. It really looks like the proprietors have decided to adequately resource and train this side of the operation, which is fundamental to an effective restaurant.
Over lunch, it was possible to see the same attention to detail among the staff working in the gardens, and the kitchen garden was truly impressive.
The food was some of the most delicious I have had for a long time - we could have done with a bigger table for the sharing plates / starters. Good wine at a good price. £4 for a small slimline tonic less impressive!
Overall - at last somewhere which truly knows how to deliver hospitality

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    174
    109
    51
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning location, delightful service, fresh flavourful foods and views of Studland.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The views are amazing a sunny day on the lawns overlooking a sparkly blue bay. Then the service that is friendly welcoming and seems to care about us the visitor.
A feast of flavours on the menu - great choices of local produce, yummy crab pancakes then delicious fresh fish to follow - all perfectly cooked and presented. Then a cute gesture a piggy biscuit iced up to celebrate our anniversary served with a zesty dessert wine carafe. We still managed to try puddies and what a delight in the eye and tastebuds - thank you folk at the Pig!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NessMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Child friendly and great location with amazing views and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just opened in June this year. We went yesterday for lunch, just rocked up on off chance - restaurant was full - but that was full as we wanted go sit outside (given our boisterous 5 year old was with us). Mains and service was great (steaks were great). Relaxed and child friendly. Loads of space for children to run and play (full of yummy mummies). Short walk to middle beach. Will be back without a doubt.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharpeyMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
500 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very rearely do I give a restaurant 5 stars but they were well deserved here. Everything was top quality; the location overlooking a wonderful garden with the white cliffs of Old Harry in the distance; the wonderful "city meets country" chic ambience; the friendly, engaging staff providing excellent service ; and the food. We had a selection of very tasty piggy and fish bit tapas style starters followed by a trout and mackerel dish, both of which were excellently prepared with a wonderful mix of flavors. The accompanying bread was superb and even the puddings were very tempting and did not disappoint. Overall a wonderful experience and we already have our next reservation in our calendar

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue for a celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Pig on the Beach and were not disappointed. Often as a vegetarian I feel short changed, not today, the food was excellent. Will definitely be back, and soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purbeckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pig on the beach also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Studland Bay, Swanage
 

Been to The Pig on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing