We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great food”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had a lovely meal, with my wife and her parents on the 17th. The atmosphere was only bettered by the service. James the barman and waiter was excellent taking time to see to all our needs. Offering advice on everything from the beer to the desserts. The food was excellent , well cooked and tasty . Sercha the chef checked that our meals were ok, and I have to say they were great. I had the crown burger and I can recommend it , although we all had different meals and they were all well recieved. If you are looking for a good night out with tasty, well cooked food and friendly service , then I would say go to the crown at marnhull .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenvmagnason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night on business. What a freindly pub with great food and well looked after ale. Room was clean and nice with unlimited tea and coffee. Will definatley stop there again on when i am on business that way again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allunnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Really great stay for one night in a comfortable, well-furnished room. The evening meal was lovely, the breakfast was huge. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, and the pub itself is a fine old building.

A perfect place for a night's break - good beer, good food, good company and a roaring log fire.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had room 3, couldn't hear a thing from the pub despite retiring early.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrunchiesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Firstly I must point out that the correct name is The Crown Inn not Hotel. This is a superb example of a traditional English pub which is steeped in history. They have just hosted the most fantastic birthday party for me and the relatively new management of Darren and his staff simply could not do enough to make sure that the evening went with a bang! We were treated to an evening of excellent food coupled with good beer and wine in a great setting with good service. What's more it was very reasonably priced. We stayed for the night, as did some of our friends, and were given the most enormous room which was very tastefully furnished and had a very comfortable bed. The stay was rounded off by a huge full English breakfast, which after dinner the night before, we struggled to do full justice too. If you are looking for a country weekend break with good food and ale you will struggle to beat the Crown Inn for comfort and value.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 (Tess) which was recommended by the management and we wouldn't disagree with...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights (our honeymoon). From the minute we walked through the door the welcome, friendliness and service commenced and continued throughout our stay. The executive suite was exactly as described, very comfortable and clean without being pretentious. The breakfast was substantial, well cooked and hot! (excellent poached eggs). Evening menu, although not gourmet, met our needs and a request for something not on the menu was duly ordered and cooked to perfection.
Darren, Matt, James and the girls, thank you for making our stay so much fun and comfortable.

Dave and Fi

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the Crown on the weekend of 21st-22nd July and really coudln't fault the whole stay - I'm surprised at some of the mixed reviews on here. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and very clean with great character and everything included that you'd need. The food is lovely especially breakfast with freshly cooked generous portions. The garden is absolutely lovely if you have time to sit and enjoy it - spacious, contained (handy with small children!) and beautifully planted. But the most important thing to mention is the staff who are first class - we phoned late on the day of arrival to say that we were on our way but that one of our booked rooms would be empty due to a member of the family being too poorly to travel. We were expecting to still be charged but were told that it wasn't a problem and the room would be taken off our bill. Despite our arriving after the kitchen had closed, dinner was still prepared for us and the extra bed in our room made up as to how we required it for our little ones. You don't get that kind of friendly service in many places anymore and it really made our stay. We can't wait to return to the Crown for another stay. You won't be disappointed if you book - great value, first class service, a beautiful b&b in a lovely setting!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyYums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed at the Crown on the nights of 27 & 28th July in the room which offers disabled access as the only one available when I booked. The room is very spacious and would be a very good room for a wheelchair user as the fixtures in the room are of a suitable height. The on-suite is also well designed with a wet room and plenty of safety rails. The room is well appointed with a larger than normal flat screen tv. There has recently been a change of management and the new team are working hard to provide an excellent standard of service. I had lunch on arrival, a good size portion of sausage and mash with good onion gravy and peas just what was needed after a long drive. The selection of real ales is good and I can recommend the ' Hopping Hare ' Breakfast is formidable and the quality of ingrediants is excellent.

Room Tip: My room was roadside which isn't a problem for me and the road outside isn't a busy one.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
3.5 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
57 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
10.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
302 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
199 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Crown Road | Marnhull, Sturminster Newton DT10 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thatched 16th century traditional country inn located in the picturesque village of Marnhull & right in the heart of Thomas Hardy country! Steeped in history, with beautiful Dorset scenery, a warm welcoming atmosphere, luxury accommodation, award winning Dorset brewed Hall & Woodhouse Badger ales & great home cooked food served all day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing