We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I'll make this short as our stay was short. 1 night.
Welcome ---- Friendly couldn't fault it.
Rooms excellent , spacious and clean.
Staff extremely helpful and pleasant
Menu large and varied, our choice led to no complaints, Speed of service Just right allowed us time for a chat between courses no feeling of delay and certainly we did not feel rushed.
Regulars not at all insular and made pleasant company in the evening.
Our Hosts full of info and very entertaining especially Syble the African grey!
Bed Very comfy, Noise? none from the Pub despite it being a very busy evening, a little bit from the road first thing, but it was dust bin day and as we live over a half mile from the nearest road, a bicycle passing would probably been an unearthly sound and woken us up!
No altogether a pleasant stay and we would go, no in fact we will go again.

Room Tip: AS far as I can see all rooms offer the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Crown hotel is a very welcoming place, with beautifully appointed bedrooms, and a wide ranging and well cooked menu. All members of staff were attentive and breakfast was excellent. Rooms were individual and were well equipped with free wifi throughout the premises

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The best inn we have stayed at, the food fantastic, staff warm and friendly, well kept beers. The room large and clean. A welcoming roaring log fire in the bar completed the experience.Mathew and Darren are doing a great job!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed one night while on business. We had a wonder room on the roadside but little noise. Dinner and breakfast could not be faulted. Beer excellent. All the staff should be highly commended. The brewery should be aware how good the staff are. Very reasonable prices. What a gem. Will be staying again, will travel some distance to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have tried to point this out to Tripadvisor before but this hotel is not in Sturminster Newton. It is in the large village of Marnhull between Sturminster Newton and Gillingham and a car is needed if you wish to visit Sturminster Newton as it would be a very long walk indeed !
We went here for dinner and the staff were welcoming on a busy night and the food was tasty. We had a chicken breast with Chorizo and peppercorn sauce. It came with a decent amount of veg and saute potatoes which were of decent quality. Our son had the children's ham egg and chips which was also good. The pudding menu offered children sized portions of adult puddings which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Four of us (2 couples) stayed here for the Dorset Steam fair! We can not fault the place!!
The staff are really friendly and very efficient, the evening meals and breakfasts are first class, the rooms are very well thought out and are spotlessly clean. There is ample safe parking nearby.
We would definitely return here and highly recommend this pub and its accommodation!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were on a stopover on the way down to the West Country. Our suite was large, well maintained and well furnished, the food and drink in the pub was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was superb and lasted us all the next day to finish our journey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lucetta room which I think is the largest suite, it was certainly well appointed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
10.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
474 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
58 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
7.9 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Crown Road | Marnhull, Sturminster Newton DT10 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: £70 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thatched 16th century traditional country inn located in the picturesque village of Marnhull & right in the heart of Thomas Hardy country! Steeped in history, with beautiful Dorset scenery, a warm welcoming atmosphere, luxury accommodation, award winning Dorset brewed Hall & Woodhouse Badger ales & great home cooked food served all day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing