We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms and exceedingly friendly hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Lummen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious rooms and exceedingly friendly hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Due to circumstances, we had the good fortune to stay in both rooms. The first one, the Double Room, was airy and light, with enchanting artefacts of the maritime world and a inviting book shelf. The airy feeling was enhanced by the views of the garden and surroundings through windows in almost every direction. The private bathroom opposite the room, was very spacious and cosy and light.
The medical kit we found in one of the drawers, came in very handy.
On the second night we moved to the Ensuite Room, which was even more spacious, with a superbly luxurious bathroom.
Both rooms and bathrooms were absolutely spotless. There were hospitality trays, lots of books to read, a television, and when we looked out of the many windows, we almost always got a glimpse of the powerful wood-carvings of our host Lee.
Wendy turned out to be an exceedingly friendly host, making us feel most welcome, and at the same time keeping a keen eye to the practical side of running a B&B.
When we arrived after a long and tiring trip, we were served coffee & tea on the little porch at the back of the house in the warm evening sun.
It was a wonderful beginning of a very enjoyable stay!

I. Dekoning, Belgium

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Staying at Gorse Farm House contributed towards what was a perfect weekend in Dorset. Wendy and Lee are the bee's knees when it comes to making you feel welcome and looked after. Bedroom, bathroom and rest of the house was spotless and homely. Breakfast was super duper and set us up for our hike to Durdle Door, Overall we couldn't find fault and are just looking forward to our next visit. Top work you two and thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We feel we were very lucky to find and stay at Gorse Farm. Hosts Wendy and Lee were very friendly and attentive. Our room and bathroom was spotless and the bed really comfortable. We would highly recommend Gorse Farm to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a-dronsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We visited Sturminster Newton for friends’ 40th wedding anniversary and needed somewhere to stay for a Saturday night. We picked Gorse Farm House from www.bedandbreakfast-directory.co.uk as we liked the look of it and it was very conveniently situated.

We wish we had more time to spend there, it lovely and peaceful! Wendy and Lee the hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Lee does all the wonderful wood carvings around the farm house and also rides a motorbike so he and my partner hit it off straight away!

The room was very clean and comfortable with a king size bed (which could be converted into twin beds). The room was equipped with everything you could possibly need including a TV, courtesy tray, books, plenty of hangers, a hairdryer and even a small basket of fruit and sweets!

Downstairs is a guests’ sitting room with another TV, more books and magazines. Breakfast is served in the conservatory. Cereal and fruit is set out for you to help yourself and the cooked breakfast, which was freshly cooked, set us up for the rest of the day.

We are definitely planning a return visit and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We opted for the room with no en suite but the bathroom, which we had sole use of, was just a step a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulpen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a lovely stay at Gorse Farm. Wendy is a very good host who left treats in our bedroom every day. My husband loved the Cadbury Eclairs so much, she bought two bags just for him!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsrothuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We are currently traveling around England on a 5 week holiday from Australia and found Wendy and Lee to be the most fantastic hosts, the accommodation is beautiful, quiet and very clean, you couldn't ask for more. The English breakfast was fantastic and really set us up for a wonderful day of sight seeing. Again fantastic, B&B at it's best.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romik32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We received a very warm welcome with tea and biscuits on arrival which we had in the sunshine overlooking the garden. Bedroom was clean, airy and very tastefully decorated. Bed was large and very comfortable. Nights were beautifully peaceful as you're away from any main roads. Breakfast in the conservatory was excellent with homemade jams and marmalade (no nasty plastic packs). Wendy was very helpful in providing maps and guidebooks for walks in the area, of which there are many. We enjoyed a particularly good walk on Hambledon and Hod hills just a few miles away. Parking is easy and undercover.
Lee's woodcarvings make the visit truly memorable as he has enormous talent and much of his work is on display indoors and in the garden.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.4 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#2 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Gorse Farm Fifehead ST, Sturminster Newton DT10 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two light filled bedrooms are available here, both with super king sized beds (or two twins) and large bathrooms (one ensuite, one separate). Privacy and a quiet night is assured in this peaceful and secluded rural spot. Guests also have use of a snug, conservatory, 2 acres of garden, covered parking and WiFi. Rooms £70-75 for two people including breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorse Farm House Bed And Breakfast Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing