We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent last night at this lovely property. I agree with everything positive that has been said by previous reviewers. Nothing is forgotten, even down to hanging hooks in the bathroom. Often little details are overlooked by owners, but not here, everything is made convenient. There is plenty of space to park and Lee's impressive & unique wood carvings are dotted around the property, which gives it a lovely rustic feel, and of course they are all for sale. We will be returning to Gorse Farm the next time we go to Dorset.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
50
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

went to gorse farm house b&b over new year. The property is unique. Lots of character and beautifully furnished. Spotless and very peaceful rural retreat. The owners are so friendly and helpful and breakfast delicious. Comfortable bed and bedding. Free wifi. Flat screen tv in bedroom and a private sitting room downstairs for relaxing. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: only two rooms so both are great. Ours was a triple aspect very bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigglies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lummen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Due to circumstances, we had the good fortune to stay in both rooms. The first one, the Double Room, was airy and light, with enchanting artefacts of the maritime world and a inviting book shelf. The airy feeling was enhanced by the views of the garden and surroundings through windows in almost every direction. The private bathroom opposite the room, was very spacious and cosy and light.
The medical kit we found in one of the drawers, came in very handy.
On the second night we moved to the Ensuite Room, which was even more spacious, with a superbly luxurious bathroom.
Both rooms and bathrooms were absolutely spotless. There were hospitality trays, lots of books to read, a television, and when we looked out of the many windows, we almost always got a glimpse of the powerful wood-carvings of our host Lee.
Wendy turned out to be an exceedingly friendly host, making us feel most welcome, and at the same time keeping a keen eye to the practical side of running a B&B.
When we arrived after a long and tiring trip, we were served coffee & tea on the little porch at the back of the house in the warm evening sun.
It was a wonderful beginning of a very enjoyable stay!

I. Dekoning, Belgium

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Staying at Gorse Farm House contributed towards what was a perfect weekend in Dorset. Wendy and Lee are the bee's knees when it comes to making you feel welcome and looked after. Bedroom, bathroom and rest of the house was spotless and homely. Breakfast was super duper and set us up for our hike to Durdle Door, Overall we couldn't find fault and are just looking forward to our next visit. Top work you two and thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We feel we were very lucky to find and stay at Gorse Farm. Hosts Wendy and Lee were very friendly and attentive. Our room and bathroom was spotless and the bed really comfortable. We would highly recommend Gorse Farm to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a-dronsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We visited Sturminster Newton for friends’ 40th wedding anniversary and needed somewhere to stay for a Saturday night. We picked Gorse Farm House from www.bedandbreakfast-directory.co.uk as we liked the look of it and it was very conveniently situated.

We wish we had more time to spend there, it lovely and peaceful! Wendy and Lee the hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Lee does all the wonderful wood carvings around the farm house and also rides a motorbike so he and my partner hit it off straight away!

The room was very clean and comfortable with a king size bed (which could be converted into twin beds). The room was equipped with everything you could possibly need including a TV, courtesy tray, books, plenty of hangers, a hairdryer and even a small basket of fruit and sweets!

Downstairs is a guests’ sitting room with another TV, more books and magazines. Breakfast is served in the conservatory. Cereal and fruit is set out for you to help yourself and the cooked breakfast, which was freshly cooked, set us up for the rest of the day.

We are definitely planning a return visit and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We opted for the room with no en suite but the bathroom, which we had sole use of, was just a step a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulpen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a lovely stay at Gorse Farm. Wendy is a very good host who left treats in our bedroom every day. My husband loved the Cadbury Eclairs so much, she bought two bags just for him!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsrothuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
423 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
70 reviews
4.4 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#3 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Gorse Farm Fifehead ST, Sturminster Newton DT10 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two light filled bedrooms are available here, both with super king sized beds (or two twins) and large bathrooms (one ensuite, one separate). Privacy and a quiet night is assured in this peaceful and secluded rural spot. Guests also have use of a snug, conservatory, 2 acres of garden, covered parking and WiFi. Rooms £70-75 for two people including breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorse Farm House Bed And Breakfast Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing