We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorse Farm, Fifehead St Quintin, Dorset”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Gorse Farm is the perfect place, yes perfect, for a getaway from it all break. When we arrived we had a tea and biscuits on the sunny balcony. Our room was spotless and a very comfortable king sized bed. We had a private, luxurious bathroom with a bath and shower just two steps away. Breakfast was brilliant at a time convenient to you, home made preserves and the marmalade was superb. Cooked breakfast was of your choice. Downstairs was the snug with two comfy sofas and plenty of reading material. All of this in a rural farmhouse with owners that are interested in you and helping you make the most of your stay. Wendy and Lee were superb hosts and their home, complete with lovely flagstones on the floor to paintings and original carvings on the walls, done by Lee. A real gem!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed with Wendy and Lee last summer and I can't believe I forgot to write a review! A beautiful farm with wonderful hosts...close to many attractions and Wendy was most helpful in giving suggestions for dining and sites to see. Our breakfast was outstanding, served in their beautiful sunroom. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, free wi-fi, and overall great. We wished we had stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckgosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent last night at this lovely property. I agree with everything positive that has been said by previous reviewers. Nothing is forgotten, even down to hanging hooks in the bathroom. Often little details are overlooked by owners, but not here, everything is made convenient. There is plenty of space to park and Lee's impressive & unique wood carvings are dotted around the property, which gives it a lovely rustic feel, and of course they are all for sale. We will be returning to Gorse Farm the next time we go to Dorset.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

went to gorse farm house b&b over new year. The property is unique. Lots of character and beautifully furnished. Spotless and very peaceful rural retreat. The owners are so friendly and helpful and breakfast delicious. Comfortable bed and bedding. Free wifi. Flat screen tv in bedroom and a private sitting room downstairs for relaxing. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: only two rooms so both are great. Ours was a triple aspect very bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigglies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Due to circumstances, we had the good fortune to stay in both rooms. The first one, the Double Room, was airy and light, with enchanting artefacts of the maritime world and a inviting book shelf. The airy feeling was enhanced by the views of the garden and surroundings through windows in almost every direction. The private bathroom opposite the room, was very spacious and cosy and light.
The medical kit we found in one of the drawers, came in very handy.
On the second night we moved to the Ensuite Room, which was even more spacious, with a superbly luxurious bathroom.
Both rooms and bathrooms were absolutely spotless. There were hospitality trays, lots of books to read, a television, and when we looked out of the many windows, we almost always got a glimpse of the powerful wood-carvings of our host Lee.
Wendy turned out to be an exceedingly friendly host, making us feel most welcome, and at the same time keeping a keen eye to the practical side of running a B&B.
When we arrived after a long and tiring trip, we were served coffee & tea on the little porch at the back of the house in the warm evening sun.
It was a wonderful beginning of a very enjoyable stay!

I. Dekoning, Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Staying at Gorse Farm House contributed towards what was a perfect weekend in Dorset. Wendy and Lee are the bee's knees when it comes to making you feel welcome and looked after. Bedroom, bathroom and rest of the house was spotless and homely. Breakfast was super duper and set us up for our hike to Durdle Door, Overall we couldn't find fault and are just looking forward to our next visit. Top work you two and thank you so much.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We feel we were very lucky to find and stay at Gorse Farm. Hosts Wendy and Lee were very friendly and attentive. Our room and bathroom was spotless and the bed really comfortable. We would highly recommend Gorse Farm to all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a-dronsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
2.2 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
58 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#3 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
32 reviews
7.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
443 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#2 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Gorse Farm Fifehead ST, Sturminster Newton DT10 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two light filled bedrooms are available here, both with super king sized beds (or two twins) and large bathrooms (one ensuite, one separate). Privacy and a quiet night is assured in this peaceful and secluded rural spot. Guests also have use of a snug, conservatory, 2 acres of garden, covered parking and WiFi. Rooms £70-75 for two people including breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorse Farm House Bed And Breakfast Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing