We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was a privilege to stay in Wendy and Lee's wonderful rural hideaway for a week. Everything was just right, from the doorstep welcome from them both, to the beautiful room and delicious breakfasts. Wendy was very flexible with our slightly unusual comings and goings (we were attending a summer school in Sturminster Newton) and the peace and tranquillity meant we slept very well each night. Lee's many woodcarvings in the house and garden were a delight to discover and admire. We couldn't ask for any more and hope to return some time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbaracyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wendy and Lee have created a rural idyll in their beautiful home in the rolling Dorset countryside, surrounded by farmland, ancient villages, hedgerows and quiet lanes. The bedrooms are beautifully and simply decorated, and bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean, while every aspect looks out onto original, interesting garden features including Lee's wooden sculptures and the green countryside beyond. Breakfasts are excellent - fresh fruit salads, full English, yoghurts and cereals/muesli aplenty. Wendy and Lee are welcoming and interesting hosts - my one night stay was just too short but the sight of mists rising in the valley, the sound of horses and cows in neighbouring fields and the spectacular dawn chorus will definitely lure me/us back.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms were lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillbackathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We received a wonderfully warm welcome from Wendy and Lee upon arrival, followed by afternoon tea in the 'snug'. We felt like we had arrived in a very special home.
We had booked both bedrooms as we were travelling with our daughters, I was truly overwhelmed - the bedrooms were huge, so much room, beautifully decorated, with large king size beds. It was so nice getting out of bed on frosty Spring mornings with the central heating on. Both bathrooms were spotless and very modern. Free WIFI as well.
Breakfast was wonderful, made to order, with all tastes catered for. I love cooked English breakfasts - thank you Wendy!
There was a list of local restaurants and pubs to choose from, we dined several times at The Bull Tavern as recommended by Wendy, a great venue for dinner. Very well priced.
Their delightful garden is full of Lee's sculptures which look amazing amongst the trees and plants, it is located in a very peaceful, rural location.
Wendy & Lee have the perfect balance of open house whilst retaining necessary privacy, we always enjoyed chatting with them each time we went off for the day.
We all agreed that this was the best B&B ever, thank you so much Wendy & Lee for your kind hospitality & friendship. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A very warm welcome from the charming owners Wendy and Lee, delightful surroundings and an extremely comfortable and well appointed bedroom and bathroom. The breakfasts were first rate and set us up for each day. Our four nights in Gorse Farm House were extremely pleasurable and we very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A warm welcome from Wendy and Lee awaited us at Gorse Farm B&B. The room was comfortable, stylish and the private bathroom was spacious and beautifully finished. The B&B is in a gorgeous rural location and is full of individual features and the wonderful sculptures that catch the eye throughout the house and gardens.
All this and a lovely breakfast at an extremely reasonable rate. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Wendy and Lee have a wonderful home and garden that they share with their guests. You really feel you have arrived somewhere special. Their delightfully landscaped garden is full of Lee's beautiful sculptures which look amazing with all the trees and plants. The birds seem to love it too, including a little blue tit that landed on our window ledge a couple of times and peeped in.

The kettle went on as soon as we got there and we enjoyed our cuppa on the little side terrace. Our room was fabulous. I would defy anyone to find fault. Spacious yet cosy, tranquil and relaxing with a giant bed to die for! The bathroom would not have been out of place in a very good hotel. I was able to stretch out in the roll top bath with just the birdsong breaking the silence. Bliss. Our breakfast in the sunny conservatory was delicious too.

The only negative was the fact that we were only there for one night. We totally could have lingered for the rest of the week. Wendy works very hard but makes it look totally effortless. She cannot do enough for you to make your stay a positive experience. She has got the ratio of open house whilst retaining necessary privacy just right which is never easy. Go and experience it for yourself - you won't regret it!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FluffnOrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I can't speak highly enough of our stay at Gorse Farm House. Our room was generous in size and extremely comfortable with a bathroom to luxuriate in. The house, gardens and surrounding countryside are a tranquil haven. Wendy and Lee were warm and welcoming from start to end and provided a wonderful breakfast each morning. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
57 reviews
7.1 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#3 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
32 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
89 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in Compton Abbas
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Gorse Farm Fifehead ST, Sturminster Newton DT10 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two light filled bedrooms are available here, both with super king sized beds (or two twins) and large bathrooms (one ensuite, one separate). Privacy and a quiet night is assured in this peaceful and secluded rural spot. Guests also have use of a snug, conservatory, 2 acres of garden, covered parking and WiFi. Rooms £70-75 for two people including breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorse Farm House Bed And Breakfast Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing