We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb b&b in a lovely area.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb b&b in a lovely area.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were made to feel very welcome in a lovely home. An extremely well run b&b in a great setting. Both the room and private bathroom were immaculate. Not a plastic pot of dreadful uht to be seen anywhere! Why stay in an over-priced tired hotel when you can stay somewhere this good? Brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Both Wendy and Lee Dickenson made us so welcome in their beautiful home. Nothing was to much trouble conversation was warm and sincere. Accommodation is tastefully furnished and so comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Also Lee's wood sculptures are on show throughout the premises inside and out and are truly stunning
We had a wonderful five days stay recently and it is so central to explore Dorset
We recommend this venue and intend to return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Wendy Dickinson gives you a very warm and friendly welcome. Attractive and comfortable bedrooms with very large beds and a good breakfast in their charming relaxed large country house. Check out the very interesting wooden carvings around the garden made by Wendy's husband. A great place to enjoy the Somerset and Dorset countryside.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very nice setting with a friendly welcome. The owners were very obliging. We will definitely go again - both because we really liked it and as an added benefit, the stoneground flour from nearby Sturminster-Newton Mill makes lovely bread!

Charming walks nearby, a folder full of interesting places to visit. Convenient for Plush Music Festival. Lee is a very talented woodwork carver. Some pieces are placed around the house and gardens. Well-worth looking at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was a privilege to stay in Wendy and Lee's wonderful rural hideaway for a week. Everything was just right, from the doorstep welcome from them both, to the beautiful room and delicious breakfasts. Wendy was very flexible with our slightly unusual comings and goings (we were attending a summer school in Sturminster Newton) and the peace and tranquillity meant we slept very well each night. Lee's many woodcarvings in the house and garden were a delight to discover and admire. We couldn't ask for any more and hope to return some time.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbaracyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wendy and Lee have created a rural idyll in their beautiful home in the rolling Dorset countryside, surrounded by farmland, ancient villages, hedgerows and quiet lanes. The bedrooms are beautifully and simply decorated, and bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean, while every aspect looks out onto original, interesting garden features including Lee's wooden sculptures and the green countryside beyond. Breakfasts are excellent - fresh fruit salads, full English, yoghurts and cereals/muesli aplenty. Wendy and Lee are welcoming and interesting hosts - my one night stay was just too short but the sight of mists rising in the valley, the sound of horses and cows in neighbouring fields and the spectacular dawn chorus will definitely lure me/us back.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillbackathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We received a wonderfully warm welcome from Wendy and Lee upon arrival, followed by afternoon tea in the 'snug'. We felt like we had arrived in a very special home.
We had booked both bedrooms as we were travelling with our daughters, I was truly overwhelmed - the bedrooms were huge, so much room, beautifully decorated, with large king size beds. It was so nice getting out of bed on frosty Spring mornings with the central heating on. Both bathrooms were spotless and very modern. Free WIFI as well.
Breakfast was wonderful, made to order, with all tastes catered for. I love cooked English breakfasts - thank you Wendy!
There was a list of local restaurants and pubs to choose from, we dined several times at The Bull Tavern as recommended by Wendy, a great venue for dinner. Very well priced.
Their delightful garden is full of Lee's sculptures which look amazing amongst the trees and plants, it is located in a very peaceful, rural location.
Wendy & Lee have the perfect balance of open house whilst retaining necessary privacy, we always enjoyed chatting with them each time we went off for the day.
We all agreed that this was the best B&B ever, thank you so much Wendy & Lee for your kind hospitality & friendship. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
4.4 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#3 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gorse Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Gorse Farm Fifehead ST, Sturminster Newton DT10 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two light filled bedrooms are available here, both with super king sized beds (or two twins) and large bathrooms (one ensuite, one separate). Privacy and a quiet night is assured in this peaceful and secluded rural spot. Guests also have use of a snug, conservatory, 2 acres of garden, covered parking and WiFi. Rooms £70-75 for two people including breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorse Farm House Bed And Breakfast Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing