We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Hotel”
Review of Plumber Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plumber Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Homely Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Had two nights here in Sept.
Very friendly owners/staff. Stayed in courtyard room. Spacious and on two levels. Decor traditional/"chintzy" Able to leave doors open whilst enjoying drink on the lawn.

Had dinner on both nights. Very good meals,well cooked and presented. Unable to have desserts as too full.
Breakfast too was very good. Fruit, cereals self serve. Fruit was a large bowl of strawberries,large bowl of dates/figs plus a plate of other fruits.
Then the hot breakfast was waiter/ress ordered but there is no menu. You are just asked what you would like. I never questioned whether items like kippers were available as I had full english both mornings. Very good.
An enjoyable experience and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    24
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
46
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The location was quite old without being architecturally memorable. My room verged on being cosy. Down in the bar the gentlemen were all wearing sports jackets and their ladies laughed like horses. Mine host exuded bonhomie like an episode of The Archers circa 1980. My meal confirmed the impression I had slipped into a culinary time-warp. Miraculously the food was still quite good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butlerhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A nice hotel, very traditional the rooms are very chintzy and the bar/restaurant was quite old fashioned. However old fashioned service and attention to detail was definitely there. Generally an older clientele and quite a remote location. The food was amazing and if you just want a break from everything and lots of peace and quiet then this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I was here for a wedding so had food and slept here.
The owners who still like there with their family are so welcoming and friendly
All the rooms have a genuine old country feel to them and are stunning
The food was very good and there is a large selection of alcohol to suit anyones needs
The bedrooms and bathrooms were large and spacious
The only thing I could mention is a few odd repares need to be done here and there

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same for quality, the court yard is maybe a tad more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We went to Plumber Manor for Sunday lunch. We were greeted by Richard, Alison and their staff who made us feel very welcome. Plumber Manor is set in a beautiful rural part of Dorset, the grounds are delightful and lovely to walk round. We enjoyed pre lunch drinks in the very comfortable bar whilst perusing the menu. The food was excellent - I chose Roast Beef (rare) and it was cooked to perfection; our party of four had selected different menu choices and everything was superb. The waiting staff were delightful - young and enthusiastic. I cannot think of anything derogatory to say about Plumber Manor - if you are visiting Dorset then a visit here should be top of your list for an "English Dining Experience"!!

Room Tip: Did not stay - just went for Sunday lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

My in-laws treated my husband and I to an evening meal for our 7th wedding anniversary. The service was excellent and the food amazing. The setting for the hotel is idyllic but is quite a long way from any town so a designated driver is essential as a taxi would prove expensive. We had a beautiful evening.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickenAndBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We met friends for Sunday Lunch. Everything was wonderful. From the moment you step into the reception area it is clear that it will be special. The fresh flowers beautifully arranged, the greeting from mine host exuding warmth, drinks arriving almost immediately, yes, we were all set to enjoy. The meal was superb, and gosh, there was a dessert trolley, something which we hadn't seen for years. Yes, it is traditional, but goodness me, they could teach a lot of restaurants how it should be done. One of the best! Laurie R.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
872 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumber Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumber Manor

Property: Plumber Manor
Address: Sturminster Newton DT10 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plumber Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plumber Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumber Manor Hotel Sturminster Newton
Plumber Manor Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing