We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully old fashioned”
Review of Plumber Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumber Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Delightfully old fashioned”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My first visit although my wife last dined here 12 years ago. A warm and friendly welcome in an upper crust sort of way, drinks in the bar and plenty of time to choose from a perfectlly Adequate lunch menu and a sensibly priced wine list. Two seafood starters (trio of shellfish and trout) suited us well and they were generous portions and very tasty. Rare beef was assured and it was to perfection, tender with a selection of fresh vegetables including roast and boiled Jersey Royal potatoes. Piece de resistance undoubtedly a wonderfully crowded sweet trolley with a selection of all things creamy, fresh fruit, cheesecake et al. Cheese and biscuits or a hot toffee pud also offered.

The staff, young and old were charming and attentive to match the ambience of the house, grounds and heritage of the place.
A thoroughly enjoyable few hours immersed in the sort of old world charm that hardly exists today - with delicious food of course.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    25
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
48
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have never visited this part of the country before and Plumber Manor had been recommended to us. The reason for our visit was to attend a big family celebratory Ball and we were part of a large party staying at the hotel. It is undoubtedly a lovely looking hotel with beautiful gardens and we were greeted with a warm welcome. Our room was in the courtyard and was a large, clean, comfortable room although somewhat dated with its general décor and avocado bathroom!!

The reason for our real disappointment? We had had a very long journey down in Friday traffic, followed straight away by a late night so we were very tired. Also it was one of those rare occasions when we did not have our young children with us so we did not have to get up as early as we normally do! We woke, not too late, to discover we had missed breakfast. Most of those in our party also missed it. We had not been informed of breakfast times on arrival, I believe some of our party had been? Breakfast is served only until 9.30am even at the weekends?? My husband called to ask if it would be possible to still have breakfast at approx. 9.45 only to be met with a negative response. We have to admit we found this response very unaccommodating bearing in mind our room was very expensive and bearing in mind we had a long journey home. How long does it take to fry a few eggs and grill some bacon and tomatoes? We got a cup of tea in the lounge but I am afraid Richard did not 'effortlessly' look after us as he appears to have looked after other guests as mentioned in other reviews! We regularly stay in 4* hotels and have never come across anything like this before, all the others we have stayed in have extended breakfast hours at the weekend (10 at the very least, 10.30am for our favourite hotel) and I believe they would not turn us away even if we were slightly later!!

Luckily our lovely hostess from the party had arranged a wonderful and tasty hog roast from Else Family Butchers of Stalbridge. So we went there for breakfast but honestly it should not have been necessary should it?

Room Tip: One of our friends stayed in the main hotel and they said that even though their room was smaller th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerne Abbas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Plumber Manor has been by far the best dinning experience since we moved to Dorset 5 years ago. The hotel is a wonderful testament to everything that represents good old fashioned Brititsh pomp! From the welcome of the staff to way Richard effortlessly looks after his guests the whole place exudes quality and comfort. The food is exceptional, cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious and great value. The accommodation is a little pricey but in my opinion well worth stretching the bank for so you can enjoy the full Plumber Manor experience. This place is an absolutely gem and I would recommend without hesitation. We can't wait to go back and enjoy it in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srebos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have been visiting Plumber Manor restaurant for many years. It is full of country charm, exceptional hospitality and situated in lovely surroundings. The food quality is as good as ever and we have always been made very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM197285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

It was our first trip to this Hotel and we found the staff and the family that own it very friendly and helpful. The food - we could not have the full dinner experience - was limited to a starter in the evening with some bread - and was followed the morning after with an excellent breakfast.
This is a top place and would easily recommend it to others wanting a taste of old fashioned country charm and service. My wife & I are looking forward to a return trip next year to Plumber Manor.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which although small double does get the morning sun. Go for room 6 if you want a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Eulalia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Plumber Manor was a delight as always - time has stood still here and it is all the better for that. Although now perhaps just a touch faded around the edges, it provides a welcome retreat from the modern world in a charming setting and is like staying at a private country house. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the welcome warm, friendly and relaxed, the food outstanding. We had my mother's 100th Birthday Party here last year, with some 60 members of the family, and PM provided an excellent meal and did us proud. This more recent visit confirmed that this is the place to stay in Dorset if you want to be really tranquil and relaxed. The venison at dinner was the best I had anywhere on this trip to England!

Room Tip: If staying here in the winter, try to get a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Plumber Manor is a real old fashioned gem - the rooms spotlessly clean, rather dated, but deliciously comfortable, linen sheets and blankets (no duvets here!), avocado bathroom suite with Molton Brown accessories, yummy homemade shortbread biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities. The atmosphere in the bar is very welcoming and the food absolutely delicious. If you take Plumber Manor as you find it you will not be disappointed however if you like all singing/dancing mod cons this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
888 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumber Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumber Manor

Property: Plumber Manor
Address: Sturminster Newton DT10 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plumber Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Plumber Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumber Manor Hotel Sturminster Newton
Plumber Manor Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing