We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality”
Review of Plumber Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumber Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Set in the midst of the Dorset countryside this hotel is unique in its charm and presence.
The main building is of honeyed stone and the main door is guarded by a faithful and friendly dog.
This establishment is family run and they are assisted by a well drilled brigade of staff.
My room was in the courtyard building,it was spacious and well appointed.The bed was very comfortable. The tea tray had a varied range of teas and a jar of biscuits(always a winner with me).
My stay was over 4 nights and I ate in the Dining room on all of the nights,the hotel does a good trade in evening meals and one can understand why as the quality is outstanding.The menu is varied and the ingredients are locally sourced,each course is well presented and is generous.
I wish that all hotels could show the same welcome that I received at this gem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ROGER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here with our dog for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. It's got beautiful grounds and easy access to dog walks. The food in the restaurant is fabulous and the people who run it are really friendly and helpful. It's true that the decor, particularly in our bathroom (we had one of the courtyard rooms), was dated, but that didn't really matter as there was a good shower and a comfortable bed with plenty of space in the room, as well as tea making facilities (including lovely biscuits).

I'd definitely come back - with or without the dog!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SueandDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was really disappointed to see negative comments for this hotel, especially those describing it as a 'throwback in time' - for me, that's part of Plumber Manor's charm. This is rural English hospitality at it's most charming.

We stayed for a single night, with dinner, in the 'stables' area of Plumber Manor. When we arrived there was a wedding party winding down (we arrived shortly after 4pm), but we still had the run of the grounds, and the wedding was clearly a civilised affair. We were shown our room. Undoubtedly old-fashioned in decor, but perfectly clean, spacious, and generally quite lovely. Our room contained a dressing table, an ensuite bathroom, a huge double bed, and a charming window seat from which we could see out onto the gardens.

There is a very picturesque stream running through the gardens, with lots of seating area, and a well-kept lawn to sprawl on with a gin and tonic and admire the view (much recommended). We were concerned that dinner might be a strained affair, because there appeared to be a lot of people, but it couldn't have gone more smoothly. There was a large party taking place on the evening of our stay, but they were seated in a separate dining room, and seemed to have no affect on the waiting time or staff attention. We enjoyed a wonderful drink outside where our order, before being seated inside for a lovely, simple but delicious supper. You'll be well fed, but make sure you make breakfast, which is a lovely cold spread and optional cooked meal. I had poached eggs on toast with grilled tomatoes - they were perfect.

As well as the gorgeous grounds and buildings, the staff are brilliant - Richard, front of house, couldn't have been more welcoming, and the dinner serving staff were very attentive.

The hotel is situated in a lovely part of the world, with plenty of quaint English villages to visit (we stopped by Shaftesbury, a short drive away).

It's not cheap, but it's a cut above and you certainly feel special when staying at Plumber. This is going to become a regular romantic getaway, whenever we can afford it.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the stables, I'd recommend it, but the house itself looked lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelMarieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We found Plumber Manor not long after moving to Dorset in 2009.
I was searching for fine dining restaurants in and around the area.
It is a wonderful luxury hotel and restaurant, with gorgeous gardens, and superb food.
Richard the owner and host, is always warm and welcoming, and has been running this wonderful Jacobean country house hotel for many years, The atmosphere is comfortable,warm and relaxed, with a hint of the 'old fashioned' which is one of it's many wonderful qualities.. It has been in Richards' family since it was built back in the 1600s!

You won't or certainly shouldn't ,find the jean and trainer brigade here. Standards are upheld and rightly so. The food is always delicious, fresh and perfectly cooked, with an extensive wine menu.
It is one of a very few places left, that serve your sweet from the trolley!

We have been coming for a few years now, and will continue to do so. The food is reasonably price for such high quality,and Plumber Manor has this in bucket loads.
It comes very highly recommended indeed!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cazziep2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited plumber manor at the end on march for surprise 60th birthday celebrations. The front of house were very welcoming even helping us hide our vehicles from the person being surprised! The rooms are cute, lovely window seats but bathrooms outdated. The beds are very comfortable and provide a great nights sleep. The food is brilliant and I would thoroughly recommend a meal even if you are not staying. Plentiful portions and well cooked.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On our annual trip to Cornwall this year we broke the journey with a charming 1 night stay at Plummer Manor. We travelled with 2 of our kids and a dog. The front of House owner Richard could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Not only did he make us feel welcome with over 40 years of plummer manor charm , but our cocker spaniel was made to feel at home to ! Our accomadation was very clean and spacious....albeit slightly tired and i'm still not a fan of avacado bathroom suits ! that said the main house is stunning and the grounds immaculate. We were tired after our 3.5 hour car trip but despite being slightly late we were offered a pre-dinner drink and were not rushed for dinner in anyway. A terrific dinner followed and the chef should be applauded [ good size portions]. we will be back..its also a beautiful part of the world to drive in !

Room Tip: for romance stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandbSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband has stayed here plenty of times on business but this time I came with him as we were invited for a special treat by friends. I also stayed here for the first time about 18 years ago and it was like time had stood still ( think we even got the same room) now refreshed and a lovely bathroom ( robes in the wardrobe for after,cozy) and flat-screen tv. The hotel is quite quirky with pictures on the walls of previous family members and old furnitures. The grounds are lovely with nice garden.The dinner we had was really nice,fish tasted fresh and was superb. and meat looked good too,cooked to your liking. The dessert was yummy,maybe just a little on the small side :) Breakfast the next morning was also nice,served by Richard himself, eggs,bacon etc. cooked to your liking,fresh fruit and cereals too. You might find this place a bit pricey however a nice little place for a night or weekend away...........
Bournemouth 1 hour away .

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mia209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in Compton Abbas
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumber Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumber Manor

Address: Sturminster Newton DT10 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: £50 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plumber Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plumber Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumber Manor Hotel Sturminster Newton
Plumber Manor Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing