We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old farmhouse in peaceful setting”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Fifehead Farm
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lovely welcome, full of friendly animals and creature comforts. The ancient farmhouse is wonderful and homely. We stopped for one night on our way south and appreciated the peace and quiet. Thank you Jess for looking after us so well. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent a night at Fifehead Farm for our third wedding anniversary (very last minute booking). We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves - a wonderful living room complete with a roaring fire, a library full of books, a luxurious and beautifully furnished bedroom and wonderful bathroom. Jessica and Jasper are the most exceptionally friendly hosts and the three dogs, one cat, chickens and beautiful Lily all made the visit exceptional. The food was out of this world (dinner and breakfast) and our Spaniel Winnie had a wonderful time. We were so relaxed by the time we left and could not have wished for a nicer stay. This place is a real find.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87Corinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Luxurious and stylish, Lower Fifehead Farm is a seventeenth century farmhouse in the heart of Dorset where hosts Jessica and Jasper Miller go the extra mile to make sure guests have a great time. The food is excellent, the dogs and cat are friendly (our dog had a ball) and the hens in the garden provide eggs for your breakfast. It was a bit like being on the set of the film 'Babe'. We returned to London with our batteries recharged and recommend it with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey Payne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We've been holidaying in Dorset for the last ten years and this has to be the nicest Bed and Breakfast we've found. Jess and Jasper are great hosts, really welcoming and friendly.
We had the Stable room which was lovely. I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning!
Breakfast was super - beautifully cooked and served at the huge oak table in the drawing room with the fire blazing. The weather was terrible on one day so we came back early and cosied up in front of the fire and Jess bought us hot chocolate and home made cake.
We had an evening meal every night and they were all delicious. (Salmon fillet & Hollandaise sauce, Beef Bourgignonne and Roast Pork on the Sunday ). It was great not to have to drive to find a pub for food - i wouldn't fancy driving round these lanes in the dark.
The only down side was the cockerel crowing in the morning, but when we booked to stay again Jess told us he'd found a new home.
We're going to stay again in November and we can't wait.

Room Tip: we loved thee stable room for the huge brass bed and roll topbath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetFlowerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spent few days just before Christmas at Lower Fifehead Farm B&B with my Husband as a break from our busy city lifestyle, I have been holidaying in Dorset for the last 10 years and I can safely say that I was blown away by this idyllic slice of bliss.

We were greeted by Jess with Hot Chocolate and a beaming smile, we were then shown to our room which was just RIDOOSH! A soft fluffy cloud of a bed and everything smelled amazing! I always pack quite heavily with shower gels etc as a lot of B&Bs and even some hotels just don't provide these things, they stayed packed as I lathered myself in Cowshed products!

Once settled Jess laid us on the most sumptuous evening meal and made us feel so at home! ANOTHER plus side (of which this beautiful hamlet has so many) was that we didn't have to drive around in the pitch black navigating country roads to find a pub!

A wonderfully restful sleep (I must admit it was such fun pretending it was actually OUR home if only for a few nights!) later and we were sequestered in front of a roaring fire to take our breakfast.

SIMPLY DIVINE I cannot WAIT to stay here again and I cannot praise Jess, Jasper and their beautiful home enough, a true gem in the heart of Dorset, I simply have no interest in staying anywhere else in the UK.

See you soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMorris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Situated in the Dorset countryside is this beautiful B&B which is a real gem you won't be disappointed. Our room was stunning with a roll top bath, comfortable bed and the little extras were fantastic, like the homemade cakes, yum! The breakfast, well what can I say, it was huge and so tasty.The attention to detail at this B&B is a real credit to Jess which just made our stay perfect, we will be coming back very soon. Thank you to Jess and Jasper for being fantastic hosts and making our stay so relaxing, just what we needed, see you again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophiefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Lower Fifehead Farm is one of the nicest, if not the nicest Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed in. My other half booked three nights there as a surprise for my birthday. It was heavenly: From the moment we arrived, to a pot of tea and Jessy's delicious home made cake, to the moment we left (when we were given beautifully wrapped chocolate brownies and elderflower cordial as a leaving present), the whole thing was fantastic.

Jess is lovely and so friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and Jasper even came to collect from the pub so we could have a few drinks!

The beds were amazing (we were in Garden Room with the mullion windows,)the breakfasts were enormous and delicious, as was the three course evening meal we had on our first night. Roses on the table, candlelight, it was perfect. (If you get Jess's recipe for Tarte Tatin please share it with me!)

We've already booked to come again in the Autumn.

Great place, if you want a peaceful break in the country with top class food and service I can't think of anywhere better.

Room Tip: They all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sturminster Newton hotels
0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
158 reviews
0 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
95 reviews
0 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#3 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
65 reviews
0 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#12 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
8 reviews
0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Fifehead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Fifehead Farm

Address: Lower Fifehead Farm Fifehead ST, Sturminster Newton DT10 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sturminster Newton
Also Known As:
Lower Fifehead Farm Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing