We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely trip to the country”

Manston Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manston Guest House
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work locally.
Owners were lovely. Rooms were perfect with new shower suite and large tv. The area is gorgeous. Local pub within a couple hundred metres.
Would highly recommend!
Thank you Poppy . Kevin

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

The location in countryside is enchanting and peaceful, but difficult to find out if you don't have a satellite navigator.
Our room (No. 7) was at the ground floor and did not have a good view, but it was nice and clean. The bathroom was new and spacious, but the room was really too small for an extra-bed (we were two adults and one child).
The owner was a very helpful and friendly lady.
I think that is a nice Guest House, but too expensive, above all the overprice for the extra-bed!!!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank pier66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The room was immaculately clean; the bed was extremely comfortable; the service was excellent. Even though it is advertised as a b&b, evening meals are available at a very reasonable price, and are of excellent quality. The next time I am in the area, it will be my first choice to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of August and had a very comfortable time. Our room (Room no.1) was quite small but it had every conceivable facility - large wide screen TV, a powerful shower, comfortable bed and even a small mini refrigerator. We had dinner at the guest house, too. I can still remember Poppy's cooking: one of the best cottage pies I've ever had and steak served with parma ham which was tasty and tender. The only fly in the ointment was the pricey wine which was served with the meal (however there was a pub just a short walk away that we could have gone to if we had wanted something cheaper to drink).
I would strongly recommend this place to any business or leisure traveller who happens to be in north Dorset. It is a good alternative to staying in a local pub and you'll find that there are many more facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomFukuokaJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We booked two single rooms, one on the ground floor was like a broom cupboard, no natural
air in rooms, could not open windows. Breakfast very disappointing owners clearly trying to
skimp, little choice. Would not recommend, poor value for money. How do these B&B get
their accreditation,i would award no more than three diamonds.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

A group of us stayed here a couple of times in May as we prepared for and ran the Wessex Ridgeway Relay.

Jonathan and Poppy were excellent hosts, catering for our team meal the night before the race, and providing accommodation for a number of the runners. They even prepared a picnic lunch for us on race day.

The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, and the food was excellent - we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddxRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Very clean, ok size room (but would be very cramped with a cot) comfy large bed, but NOT 4 star by any means and not worth £110 when paid £80 for much nicer room and service in pub in Dorset!
Poppy trying hard, but odd mix of pictures on walls, laundry lying around during the day, plastic flowers, previous guest's empty wine bottle in our room, don't make for a 4 star B&B

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sturminster Newton hotels
1.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
92 reviews
2 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#12 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
8 reviews
0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manston Guest House

Address: 2 Northwood Cottages | Manston, Sturminster Newton DT10 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manston Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for holiday or business (FREE WiFi, separate entrance, separate lounge, early breakfasts, pub nearby, CC payments). The cottage has a large garden with beautiful view. We have 4 doubles and 2 singles and a twin (all with en-suite/private shower room), TV, tea & coffee making facilities. The beds are top of the range from SEALY. Plenty off road parking. Fantastic full English breakfast. Gourmet menu/food available. Children welcome. Strictly non-smoking and no pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Manston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manston Guest House Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing