We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home from home!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sturminster Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Plb89
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home!!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned after a fantastic week in this wonderful cottage. Made welcome by Peter the owner on arrival with a welcome pack which was a lovely gesture. Warm, comfortable, quiet and very well equipped all helped to make our week in Dorset a perfect holiday. The cottage had a homely & loved feeling about it & is a credit to the owners. Situated down a lane in the lovely village of Sturminster Newton which has all you need for your stay. There is a variety of shops full of fresh local produce a couple of pubs, a supermarket and a selection of takeaways if required. Its a lovely place stay to explore such a pretty county. Highly recommended....... thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hhounsom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed here with my daughter and we had a most enjoyable and comfortable stay. We had a very warm welcome and were very impressed by the welcome pack which included sausages and bacon. The local shops were great and there was something to do everyday.

My daughter and her husband are thinking of booking next year for a short break.

Thanks for letting us stay in your lovely cottage.

Helen & Michael

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us all, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Orcadia Cottage. That welcome sounds lovely, what a way to start your holiday! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owner and hope that you return for another stay very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwerryhou...
Walsall West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage, very well furnished, comfortable warm and cosy”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is one of the best that we have rented. Very well furnished, full kitchen equipment, central heating also log fire if wanted. Modern TV both in the lounge and the double bedroom also DVD player. Good welcome pack - milk/coffee/tea/biscuits/nibbles, bacon/sausage/bread. No bath but good shower. Small rear yard which was pleasant to sit in for a read of the paper and a coffee. Local Co-Operative store and small general store within a short distance. Welcomed by owner but not intrusive during our stay, local if required.
Easy reach of Dorset countryside and coastline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of all things.
Liked least: The cost of paying the agents by credit card £7.50 each transaction. Not clear.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidders3
hythe,kent
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very cosy and extremely well equipped. Lovely decoration and very comfortable beds and furniture. It was a shame we did not get to meet the owners directly but they kept in touch by text and phone. Welcome pack was amazing - we almost did not need to do our Waitrose shop before we arrived! Unfortunately, Sturminster is not great but there are many things to do in the local area - it was a shame we missed the ‘Cheese Festival‘, as I think that could be a lot of fun. We visited as a couple and then two 20 somethings joined us, so the cottage is great for four adults.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and equipment in the cottage.
Liked least: The town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Langenfeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most charming cottage”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is definitely a cottage to recommend. The owners have paid lots of attention to detail and have furnished the cottage to a high standard. It is comfortable, cosy and extremely well-equipped. We immediately felt at home, not least because of the very friendly welcome by the owner. A most generous welcome pack was highly appreciated. The location is excellent; it is very quiet, but shops and pubs are within walking distance, and there are many places to visit in the near surroundings. On the whole, a five-star cottage that makes you feel at home. Thanks a lot for sharing it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attention to detail and style and atmosphere of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmbrown5
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Star Cottage!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our 3 night weekend at Orcadia Cottage, was wonderful. The owners have thought of everything - we wanted for nothing. The warm personal welcome and the superb 'welcome pack' started us off and we never looked back. We had a log fire each evening and were extremely comfortable in this beautifully renovated and obviously loved cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing