We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard curry house”

Monsoon Indian Cuisine
Ranked #31 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Price range: US$19 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went earlyish on new year's eve with my sister and her family making us 7 in total. The food was ok, but nothing special. A couple of our dishes could have been served hotter and one had to go back as it was still frozen. Didn't get the impression that any of the food was made to order and was all reheated. Staff were friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juber R, Manager at Monsoon Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time out to try the Monsoon and then going on to review us. We apologise for some of the dishes you received as being cold, unfortunately new years eve is the busiest night of the year for us and we are almost always unprepared for the sheer volume of takeaways and dine in orders that are placed with us. This was fault on our part for not serving the food quick enough once it was cooked. However i would like to assure you that our meals are not frozen, they are cooked and prepared to fresh to order, we challenge anyone who doubts otherwise by inviting them into our kitchen to watch our head chef prepare the food in front of their eyes. We apologise once again for your food being cold as you stated in your review once we were informed of our mistake we did rectify it, that is the best we can do at the end of the day. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

After using this restaurant for many years, but living outside the village we have chosen to use them for takeaways, until the last 3 months when we found someone who delivers to us, but as it was new years eve, we thought we would use them again, the food tasted lovely, HOWEVER the portion size had shrunk in half, and to discover the "french fried chicken" (plain) for my 7 year old at a cost of £8.95 consisted of 7 pieces of chicken and a bag of soggy half cooked chips, when progressing onto the 2 chicken vindaloo's we had also ordered, the large tins which greeted us had 6 pieces of chicken, and were half filled with sauce, This is NOT the quantity that we used to receive....After phoning them to discuss this matter, we were dismayed to discover that nothing would be done, an apology was given but then the phone put down on us, after he said that "they were the portion sizes"... Disgusted to say the least, we will NOT be returning to get a takeaway. unless things change back to how they used to be !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juber R, Manager at Monsoon Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hello again Claire, this is the beauty of Tripadvisor, it offers opinionated people the opportunity to express why they think they are right, while paying little or no attention to reason! Thankfully Tripadvisor also give us an opportunity to respond to absurd reviews such as this one to explain, and hopefully show not just you but anyone reading this review why in fact you are WRONG.

First of all lets start begin with your apparent use of our restaurant for many years until you found "someone who delivers". If this was the case you would know that our portion sizes have remained the same since 2007 (when our current head chef took charge in our the kitchen). You claim to have only received 6-7 pieces of chicken in your main courses, our portions approximately contain 10-13 pieces of chicken and given the sizes of the large containers (approximately 12 x 3inchs), the fact you then need to add sauce, vegetables (the vindaloo contains potatoes) etc. the amount of chicken you received is in fact very reasonable. We understand when people like yourself who enjoy complaining would exaggerate the facts so that they are your favor.

As stated in your review you claim that you used use for many years but in the last 3 months have found someone that delivers. You go on to say our food "tasted lovely" but there was not enough of it? Have you stopped to consider that perhaps this new place that delivers to you maybe focuses more on the quantity of the food rather than the quality? perhaps you have been become accustomed to a large amount of food in the which lacks in quality and this is why our sizes, reasonable as they are as explained above, seemed small to you? We at the Monsoon focus on quality, after all what is the point of having a large amount of something that doesn't taste good right? That is not to say that our portions are small however, but rather that we have found a balance between providing amazing quality food that is reasonable in size, as opposed to what you are now used to. Let me further point out that you are the first person out of 90 reviews prior to this to have complained about portion size.

Lets now get on to the french fried chicken, we have already discussed the quantity of meat you received as being reasonable as stated above. You firstly complain about the price of the french fried chicken, again you say you have used us for many years, our prices have remained the same since 2009, you then say the chicken was plain, let me point out to the readers here that when you ordered the french friend chicken you specifically asked for no peas, onions and spices as your kids did not like them! this is what makes up the french fried chicken, take that away and you are left with just chicken! i have no doubt that this dish was plain HOWEVER this was your fault, we were merely catering to your instructions. You say you received a bag of half cooked soggy chips, at the start of your review you mention that you live outside the village, to be precise, according to your account details on Tripadvisor you live in Bere Regis, for those of you unfamiliar with the geography of Purbeck Wareham (where we are located) to Bere Regis (where this lovely reviewer is located) is an 8 mile trip, taking around 20 minutes not accounting for traffic or weather conditions. Would you not say that the fact the chips were cold was because of this trip you had to undertake after receiving your order? bearing in mind you ordered the food at the restaurant and waited for it to be cooked as opposed to ordering it on the phone, meaning you received the food as soon as it was ready! again the fact the chips were cold was due faults of your own and not ours.

Now lets move onto our lovely telephone conversation we had that evening, we apologised that the meal was not to your satisfaction and explained to you what our sizes were and that you did in fact receive the correct amount (we've discussed above why the amount of chicken this customer claims to have received is an exaggeration of the facts), you then claim that we hung up on you, let me assure the readers that this again is another lie, you told us that we 'we're going around in circles' and hung up on us! So in fact it didn't go the way you claimed did it? I'm assuming because you just like to complain for trivial reasons, and perhaps that we didn't not give you complementary popadoms as you DEMANDED rudely at the start of your order that this review is just a way for you to vent your frustrations for not getting what you wanted. May i add that the customer also requested a FULL REFUND, for what? food tasting good? that's slightly an unreasonable request would you not say given the circumstances.

Claire, after over a decade of serving Indian food we understand that we cannot cater to everyones needs, especially those who prefer quantity over quality like yourself, this is a battle we will never win because we take our food very seriously and will not compromise taste for a huge unreasonably sized portion. Here at the Monsoon we provide very reasonable portions with excellent quality. In 90 reviews we have had no one has complained about size until this one. We wish you the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From the warm friendly service to the excellent food, the evening was very pleasant and very reasonably priced. The menu had a very good extensive choice, something for everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had an amazing meal, very clean, and friendly staff. We come here every other week for our meal. And it's free wi fi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mcrvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After being told about this hidden jem by a friend I thought i should give it a try. This is easily the best Indian meal i have eaten, but not only that it's such a good price! We where greated with excellent service and the welcoming smell of curry, it's safe to say I will be returing very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Monsoon Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing