We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly -helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anglebury House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglebury House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
plymouth devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly -helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here two nights with husband , made to feel very welcome on arrival , room basic but clean , good shower. breakfast was lovely plenty of it , restaurant meals very good , service excellent , would reccomend to friends . Convienent to lots of attractions , clouds hill , kingston lacey.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANE56PlymouthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
11
30
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I can only comment on the restaurant as did not stay in the hotel but if the restaurant is anything to go by I'm glad I didn't! It was one of the most awful meals I have ever had. The tables were filthy and it wasn't even busy so they had ample time to give the tables a clean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenannnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wareham hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

In need of redecoration, tea splatters up the wall. saucers dusty and dirty. old half used sugars and milk left. bits and dirt around back of bed side cabinets. bathroom cleanliness leaves alot to be desired. no help yourself at breakfast to cereal/friut or juices. There is no way this b&b is worth 75 quid. 50 would be more appropriate if that. locals not too friendly when we were out. we only live half an hour away but won't be returning quickly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in February, We were treated in a very friendly manor and nothing was to much for them to do. Early breakfast not a problem, The place itself is full of history quaint not to modern infact just right. Food was very good we could not realy falt it other than it being on a main road, but very convient for going out in the town of an evening. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel over a weekend in August with my 8 year old son. Upon arrival it was quite apparent this hotel seriously needed an update. It was very drab and dark throughout majority of the building. Our room was comfortable but hygeine left alot to be desired particularly in the bathroom. I found several hairs in the bath and around the toilet and it was obvious it hadnt had a deep clean for quite a while. I was glad when the weekend was over so i could get back to my light, clean and airy home!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We enjoyed a weekend away in Dorest at The Anglebury House Hotel, the location was great for all the Purbeck walks, close to Poole & Swanage, in the centre of a quaint little friendly village. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. It was such a nice experiance to stay in a beautiful15 Century building full of history. The Anglebury is a clean and tidy hotel which i would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyjayne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked in for a 'mini break' initially just 3 nights, with the intention of moving on however we were made to feel so welcome that we stayed on for another 2 nights. Upon arival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us to our room and explained to us what the hotel had to offer. There's a restaurant that serves light bites and hot meals during the day and is open for evening meals aswell. There is also a small bar, once again open all day. We used both of these and can say the meals were great something for everyone. We sat a chatted with some of the locals and the staff and had a really plesant time.
Our room was what was expected, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. When we asked for an early breakfast as we needded to leave early on the sunday(7am) it was not a problem they were more than happy to help. Being in the centre of town we were in walking distance of all the town had to offer and being given a front door key we were under no restriction of when we had to be back.
All I can say is we had a lovely break and are really glad we chose the hotel we did, I've read some of the other reviews and as for the person who said the rooms were shabby I think they must have stayed in a different hotel??????
We enjoyed ourselves that much we've booked to stay with them again in august, only problem this time is we''ve got to bring the kids!!!!!
Would deffinately recomend to friends!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffYummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglebury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglebury House

Property: The Anglebury House
Address: 15-17 North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Anglebury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglebury House Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing