We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglebury House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Welcome Oasis”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A family run hotel where the whole family really put body and soul into looking after their guests. Breakfast was included in the price and was served at a time to suit the guests' needs whether it be early or mid-morning. Food is of the highest standard and meals are made to order. Small friendly bar where the patRons are only too willing to involve you in the conversation and to pass on any information you may need to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book early as rooms are always in demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    13
    14
    8
See reviews for
12
35
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We called by chance and found this delightful old place. Staff more than helpful, food excellent and accommodation very good. The building is very old but in good condition very clean and decorated in keeping the floors might be uneaven but this all lends to the atmosphere. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have stayed here on more that one occasion and I don't know where some of the other reviews are coming from! We stayed December and found the same high standard as we have always found beatutiful breakfast and evening dinner. Clean and comfortable rooms and a great atmostphere. Locals very friendly and helpful. I would and have recommended this place to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night and couldn't bear to stay for breakfast. The room looked as though it had been last decorated and furnished in the 1970s. The velour headboard was filthy, the clock radio looked like it had been spattered with paint, the TV was an old ALBA model and the towels were thin and off white. When the toilet was flushed, there was a most unpleasant smell and there was a smell in the bedroom- hard to determine but most probably old cooking smells. How the proprietors have got the nerve to charge £75 per night per room is beyond me - it's daylight robbery and a dreadful reflection upon the town of Wareham if this was the only place visited.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wareham hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Room looks like it hasn't been decorated for years, the window was held together with masking tape (except for a big hole in the bottom of one). The shower room was dirty and cramped and the shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold. The sink had someone elses facial hair around the edges.

Breakfast was swimming in fat and the service was generally quite awful.

Worth spending a bit more and going somewhere cleaner!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uhambo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We've visited Anglebury House a couple of times in recent years as we have friends in Wareham. We stayed at a guest house so can't comment on the accommodation here, but on both occasions we were pleasantly surprised by the meals we had at the Anglebury. My Prawn Cocktail last time was absolutely huge, served on a full sized plate. Main meals were excellent and we certainly felt filled up when we left!

OK, the service was a little slow, but (without wishing to sound disrespectful) nothing moves at a great pace in Wareham and this seems to add to the charm of the place!

We've usually eaten out at a different venue each night when staying there - La Trottolina on the Quay is very good - but the Anglebury is always on our list and we would recommend it - it does the job and this is all we are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth devon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here two nights with husband , made to feel very welcome on arrival , room basic but clean , good shower. breakfast was lovely plenty of it , restaurant meals very good , service excellent , would reccomend to friends . Convienent to lots of attractions , clouds hill , kingston lacey.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANE56PlymouthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
355 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
132 reviews
13.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,039 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglebury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglebury House

Property: The Anglebury House
Address: 15-17 North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anglebury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglebury House Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing